Frictional Games Forum (read-only)

Full Version: Script area does not activate
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Hello guys.
See, I've got a really simple problem. It's weird how it won't work!

My script area doesn't activate when the Player collides with it.

Here's the code:
PHP Code:
void OnStart()
{    
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player""ScriptArea_1""SpawnBrute"true1);
AddEntityCollideCallback("brute""BruteDeSpawn""DeSpawnBrute"true1);    
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player""brutescare""BruteWalk"true1);
}
void SpawnBrute(string &in asParentstring &in asChildint alState)
{    
AddDebugMessage("Scriptarea works"true);    
SetEntityActive("brute"true);    
PlaySoundAtEntity("""notice.snt""brute"0false);    
PlayMusic("search_brute.ogg"true0.8f00true);    
SetMessage("SetMessage""SM_Malo"0);    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_1"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_2"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_3"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_4"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_5"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_6"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_7"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_8"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_9"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_10"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_11"0.1f"");
}
void DeSpawnBrute(string &in asParentstring &in asChildint alState)
{    
SetEntityActive("brute"false);    
StopMusic(1.0f0);    
SetMessage("SetMessage""SM_MaloGone"0);
}
void BruteWalk(string &in asParentstring &in asChildint alState)
{    
SetEntityActive("bruteoutside"true);    
PlaySoundAtEntity("""notice.snt""bruteoutside"0false);
PlayMusic("search_brute.ogg"true0.8f00true);    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_12"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_13"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_14"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_15"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_16"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_17"0.1f"");
}
void OnEnter(){
}
void OnLeave(){



The script is named ScriptArea_1 and is correctly placed. Here's a pic:
[Image: tEjvW.jpg]

I recommend doing everything with callback on enter Smile


PHP Code:
void OnStart(){

}
void OnEnter()
{    
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player""ScriptArea_1""SpawnBrute"true1);
AddEntityCollideCallback("brute""BruteDeSpawn""DeSpawnBrute"true1);    
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player""brutescare""BruteWalk"true1);
}
void SpawnBrute(string &in asParentstring &in asChildint alState)
{    
AddDebugMessage("Scriptarea works"true);    
SetEntityActive("brute"true);    
PlaySoundAtEntity("""notice.snt""brute"0false);    
PlayMusic("search_brute.ogg"true0.8f00true);    
SetMessage("SetMessage""SM_Malo"0);    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_1"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_2"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_3"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_4"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_5"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_6"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_7"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_8"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_9"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_10"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_11"0.1f"");
}
void DeSpawnBrute(string &in asParentstring &in asChildint alState)
{    
SetEntityActive("brute"false);    
StopMusic(1.0f0);    
SetMessage("SetMessage""SM_MaloGone"0);
}
void BruteWalk(string &in asParentstring &in asChildint alState)
{    
SetEntityActive("bruteoutside"true);    
PlaySoundAtEntity("""notice.snt""bruteoutside"0false);
PlayMusic("search_brute.ogg"true0.8f00true);    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_12"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_13"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_14"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_15"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_16"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_17"0.1f"");
}
void OnEnter(){
}
void OnLeave(){

Have u added the brute as entity?? (under the enemy tab)


And did you rename it "brute"??
Do any other scripts work?
(03-10-2012, 12:45 PM)Stepper321 Wrote: [ -> ]I recommend doing everything with callback on enter Smile


PHP Code:
void OnStart(){

}
void OnEnter()
{    
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player""ScriptArea_1""SpawnBrute"true1);
AddEntityCollideCallback("brute""BruteDeSpawn""DeSpawnBrute"true1);    
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player""brutescare""BruteWalk"true1);
}
void SpawnBrute(string &in asParentstring &in asChildint alState)
{    
AddDebugMessage("Scriptarea works"true);    
SetEntityActive("brute"true);    
PlaySoundAtEntity("""notice.snt""brute"0false);    
PlayMusic("search_brute.ogg"true0.8f00true);    
SetMessage("SetMessage""SM_Malo"0);    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_1"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_2"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_3"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_4"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_5"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_6"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_7"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_8"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_9"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_10"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_11"0.1f"");
}
void DeSpawnBrute(string &in asParentstring &in asChildint alState)
{    
SetEntityActive("brute"false);    
StopMusic(1.0f0);    
SetMessage("SetMessage""SM_MaloGone"0);
}
void BruteWalk(string &in asParentstring &in asChildint alState)
{    
SetEntityActive("bruteoutside"true);    
PlaySoundAtEntity("""notice.snt""bruteoutside"0false);
PlayMusic("search_brute.ogg"true0.8f00true);    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_12"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_13"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_14"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_15"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_16"0.1f"");    
AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_17"0.1f"");
}
void OnEnter(){
}
void OnLeave(){

Thast honestley, would not change a thing/

(03-10-2012, 12:50 PM)pingo2 Wrote: [ -> ]Have u added the brute as entity?? (under the enemy tab)


And did you rename it "brute"??
Yep. Added it and placed it as inactive behind a door, and then used pathnodes. The problem isn't the enemy, though. I don't even get a debug message showing that I entered the script area.


And flamez3, let me check. I will create a new one and post again in a couple of mins.


EDIT: Nope, doesn't seem like other scripts work.
(03-10-2012, 12:51 PM)flamez3 Wrote: [ -> ]Do any other scripts work?
(03-10-2012, 12:45 PM)Stepper321 Wrote: [ -> ]I recommend doing everything with callback on enter Smile





PHP Code:
void OnStart(){



}

void OnEnter()

{    

AddEntityCollideCallback("Player""ScriptArea_1""SpawnBrute"true1);

AddEntityCollideCallback("brute""BruteDeSpawn""DeSpawnBrute"true1);    

AddEntityCollideCallback("Player""brutescare""BruteWalk"true1);

}

void SpawnBrute(string &in asParentstring &in asChildint alState)

{    

AddDebugMessage("Scriptarea works"true);    

SetEntityActive("brute"true);    

PlaySoundAtEntity("""notice.snt""brute"0false);    

PlayMusic("search_brute.ogg"true0.8f00true);    

SetMessage("SetMessage""SM_Malo"0);    

AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_1"0.1f"");    

AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_2"0.1f"");    

AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_3"0.1f"");    

AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_4"0.1f"");    

AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_5"0.1f"");    

AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_6"0.1f"");    

AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_7"0.1f"");    

AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_8"0.1f"");    

AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_9"0.1f"");    

AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_10"0.1f"");    

AddEnemyPatrolNode("brute""PathNodeArea_11"0.1f"");

}

void DeSpawnBrute(string &in asParentstring &in asChildint alState)

{    

SetEntityActive("brute"false);    

StopMusic(1.0f0);    

SetMessage("SetMessage""SM_MaloGone"0);

}

void BruteWalk(string &in asParentstring &in asChildint alState)

{    

SetEntityActive("bruteoutside"true);    

PlaySoundAtEntity("""notice.snt""bruteoutside"0false);

PlayMusic("search_brute.ogg"true0.8f00true);    

AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_12"0.1f"");    

AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_13"0.1f"");    

AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_14"0.1f"");    

AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_15"0.1f"");    

AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_16"0.1f"");    

AddEnemyPatrolNode("bruteoutside""PathNodeArea_17"0.1f"");

}

void OnEnter(){

}

void OnLeave(){


Thast honestley, would not change a thing/
It did for me.


(03-10-2012, 01:01 PM)Peldan Wrote: [ -> ]
(03-10-2012, 12:50 PM)pingo2 Wrote: [ -> ]Have u added the brute as entity?? (under the enemy tab)


And did you rename it "brute"??
Yep. Added it and placed it as inactive behind a door, and then used pathnodes. The problem isn't the enemy, though. I don't even get a debug message showing that I entered the script area.


And flamez3, let me check. I will create a new one and post again in a couple of mins.


EDIT: Nope, doesn't seem like other scripts work.
What is the name of the map and hps?

(03-10-2012, 01:21 PM)Stepper321 Wrote: [ -> ]What is the name of the map and hps?
second.hps and second.map
Are you sure they are in the same folder?
(03-10-2012, 01:39 PM)flamez3 Wrote: [ -> ]Are you sure they are in the same folder?
Yep.
Can you give me the layout of your folders?
Pages: 1 2 3