Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
exp/import compounds and editing zimmermancube
Author Message
Rownbear Offline
Member

Posts: 157
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 2
Post: #1
exp/import compounds and editing zimmermancube

Hello I noticed that you could export selection and import objects in the level editor. So I made a shelf fully decorated as a compound and exported it, but I wasnt able to import it to another map. The compound showed up, but it was empty. I figured the import had another purpose, but do you have any idea if its possible to send a compound over to another map?

(This post was last modified: 05-07-2012 07:55 PM by Rownbear.)
05-07-2012 10:34 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mine Turtle Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 656
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 29
Post: #2
RE: exp/import compounds to other maps?

(05-07-2012 10:34 AM)Rownbear Wrote:  Hello I noticed that you could export selection and import objects in the level editor. So I made a shelf fully decorated as a compound and exported it, but I wasnt able to import it to another map. The compound showed up, but it was empty. I figured the import had another purpose, but do you have any idea if its possible to send a compound over to another map?
well

you cant export a combound of objects. it will show up blank. (dont get me wrong, theres an unlimited amount of objects you can export at once; BUT NOT AS A COMPOUND!)

export the bookshelf, but not as a compound; break the compound and export it.

[Image: 201107142327000.gif]
(This post was last modified: 05-07-2012 11:55 AM by Mine Turtle.)
05-07-2012 11:54 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rownbear Offline
Member

Posts: 157
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 2
Post: #3
RE: exp/import compounds to other maps?

(05-07-2012 11:54 AM)darkadders Wrote:  
(05-07-2012 10:34 AM)Rownbear Wrote:  Hello I noticed that you could export selection and import objects in the level editor. So I made a shelf fully decorated as a compound and exported it, but I wasnt able to import it to another map. The compound showed up, but it was empty. I figured the import had another purpose, but do you have any idea if its possible to send a compound over to another map?
well

you cant export a combound of objects. it will show up blank. (dont get me wrong, theres an unlimited amount of objects you can export at once; BUT NOT AS A COMPOUND!)

export the bookshelf, but not as a compound; break the compound and export it.
*Facepalms* Well that makes things much easier, tested it and worked. thanks for help Big Grin

BTW, If anyone knows how to remove the walls in the Zimmerman grounds "cube", so there's only the ground and the trees there, it would be awesome. As it is now you cant see the skybox when using it. I guess you have to remove certain parts of the Zimmerman_grounds.dae, I tried messing around but couldnt find out which part to remove. Anyone have a clue?

05-07-2012 12:12 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 950
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 43
Post: #4
RE: exp/import compounds and editing zimmermancube

you need to open it in a modelling program like maya or blender then remove the triangles that forms the walls Smile

05-07-2012 12:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rownbear Offline
Member

Posts: 157
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 2
Post: #5
RE: exp/import compounds and editing zimmermancube

(05-07-2012 12:22 PM)SilentStriker Wrote:  you need to open it in a modelling program like maya or blender then remove the triangles that forms the walls Smile
Ah i see, thanks Smile I got maya but haven't mustered up enough courage to learn about it. I guess I cant just click on the walls and hit delete? x)

05-07-2012 12:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mine Turtle Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 656
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 29
Post: #6
RE: exp/import compounds and editing zimmermancube

if by walls you mean trees, they can be accessed via the planes tool:

1. click "planes" inside the level editor

2. C:/programfiles/frictionalgames/amnesia-the dark descent/static objects/outside and find the trees.


for the actual ground im not really sure. like silentstriker said, you might have to remove the box manually using a modeling tool

[Image: 201107142327000.gif]
05-07-2012 04:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rownbear Offline
Member

Posts: 157
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 2
Post: #7
RE: exp/import compounds and editing zimmermancube

(05-07-2012 04:32 PM)darkadders Wrote:  if by walls you mean trees, they can be accessed via the planes tool:

1. click "planes" inside the level editor

2. C:/programfiles/frictionalgames/amnesia-the dark descent/static objects/outside and find the trees.


for the actual ground im not really sure. like silentstriker said, you might have to remove the box manually using a modeling tool
ok thanks, it wasnt the trees but the "box" surronding the ground and trees, you cant see the skybox unless you remove that surronding box

05-07-2012 04:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mine Turtle Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 656
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 29
Post: #8
RE: exp/import compounds and editing zimmermancube

(05-07-2012 04:49 PM)Rownbear Wrote:  
(05-07-2012 04:32 PM)darkadders Wrote:  if by walls you mean trees, they can be accessed via the planes tool:

1. click "planes" inside the level editor

2. C:/programfiles/frictionalgames/amnesia-the dark descent/static objects/outside and find the trees.


for the actual ground im not really sure. like silentstriker said, you might have to remove the box manually using a modeling tool
ok thanks, it wasnt the trees but the "box" surronding the ground and trees, you cant see the skybox unless you remove that surronding box
in that case you need to remove the box in a modeling tool. further instructions can be provided if needed

[Image: 201107142327000.gif]
05-07-2012 05:42 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rapture Online
Posting Freak

Posts: 980
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 27
Post: #9
RE: exp/import compounds and editing zimmermancube

Why has no one told me about this before... >.>
05-07-2012 06:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rownbear Offline
Member

Posts: 157
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 2
Post: #10
RE: exp/import compounds and editing zimmermancube

(05-07-2012 06:17 PM)Rapture Wrote:  Why has no one told me about this before... >.>
you didnt ask Smile

05-07-2012 06:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)