Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Thread Closed 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
SLI support for the game
Author Message
frag85 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #21
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 3 Days, 7 Hours, 7 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: SLI support for the game

EDIT: Rename Amnesia.exe to Penumbra.exe. Even though I have messed around with all the SLI settings, they do not appear to have 'taken' to Amnesia.exe. I figured the engines are very similar if not the same (penumbra had very limited support for wide screen resolutions), and I'm pegged at 60FPS with 1 or both cards enabled. Smile
09-13-2010 04:15 AM
Find all posts by this user
Windmill Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #22
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 3 Days, 7 Hours, 7 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: SLI support for the game

Okay, but do you need the Penumbra SLi profile?
09-14-2010 03:45 AM
Find all posts by this user
Mano Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #23
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 3 Days, 7 Hours, 7 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: SLI support for the game

I have steam, you know how in this case ?
09-14-2010 06:19 PM
Find all posts by this user
Spyle Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 3 Days, 7 Hours, 7 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: SLI support for the game

(09-13-2010 04:15 AM)frag85 Wrote:  EDIT: Rename Amnesia.exe to Penumbra.exe. Even though I have messed around with all the SLI settings, they do not appear to have 'taken' to Amnesia.exe. I figured the engines are very similar if not the same (penumbra had very limited support for wide screen resolutions), and I'm pegged at 60FPS with 1 or both cards enabled. Smile

This helped a lot, had to download the non steam version though.

For some reason I have to have SSAO on 4 samples, anything higher and my frames get very low. Kinda find that hard to believe with two 480s.. GPU utilization only seems to get in the 50s on both still, but it's certainly a lot better than before.
09-15-2010 04:06 AM
Find all posts by this user
Mr. Mock Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #25
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 3 Days, 7 Hours, 7 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: SLI support for the game

Its nice that some people are happy with the performance they get on their system. Why do you feel the need attack those who want better performance on their systems? So you are happy with 1024x768 30 fps. That's great for you since it must make hardware cheap. Other people do notice the difference with higher settings/fps and that is why the spend money on SLI/Xfire rigs. Frictional does not need you to come defend them from a polite question about SLI support.

If you are still running a nvidia driver version < 200 then you might be able to enable SLI with nHancer. Its a simple tool for creating and editing the game profiles that the Nvidia control panel uses. If you copy the profile from Penumbra it will probably work. Unfortunately the nHancer dev hasn't finished the new version that works with 257+ drivers yet.

Edit: The other nice thing about enabling sli on a less demanding game is that it splits the load across two cards, allowing them to run cooler and thus not have to spin their fans up as much.
09-15-2010 09:59 AM
Find all posts by this user
CHANCEPHOENIX Offline
Member

Posts: 193
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 3 Days, 7 Hours, 7 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: SLI support for the game

(09-07-2010 01:25 PM)newiral Wrote:  
(09-07-2010 12:51 PM)MulleDK19 Wrote:  Does it matter? I have a 8800 GTS 512, no SLI, and I can max it perfectly.

I don't see how you could possibly need SLI?

Yeah really ? Have you read the post number 4 of this thread?

In 1920*1200 with SSAO maxed out, I doubt that you can play the game.

If you don't matter about SLI, don't post in this thread or even don't read it, you certainly have something most important to do Smile

Hey man , i"m kinda curious ...

With your rig , try changing the true parallax occlusion mapping effect by changing the value of the line "parallax quality" in the "default_main_settings_high" folder in "launcher" folder of the game.
changing the "0" value to "1"

That way you can get a major improvement in the texture-depth BUT it will take a major impact on the framerate ...

for more info and pictures, watch this thread :

http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-4289.html

?
09-15-2010 10:38 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Mano Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #27
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 3 Days, 7 Hours, 7 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: SLI support for the game

(09-13-2010 04:15 AM)frag85 Wrote:  EDIT: Rename Amnesia.exe to Penumbra.exe. Even though I have messed around with all the SLI settings, they do not appear to have 'taken' to Amnesia.exe. I figured the engines are very similar if not the same (penumbra had very limited support for wide screen resolutions), and I'm pegged at 60FPS with 1 or both cards enabled. Smile

anyone has a solution for activate the sli with steam (i can't rename Amnesia.exe, just the laucher).

Thank you !
09-17-2010 07:04 PM
Find all posts by this user
Mano Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #28
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 3 Days, 7 Hours, 7 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: SLI support for the game

UP please !
09-18-2010 08:06 PM
Find all posts by this user
thales100 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #29
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 3 Days, 7 Hours, 7 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: SLI support for the game

(09-15-2010 04:06 AM)Spyle Wrote:  
(09-13-2010 04:15 AM)frag85 Wrote:  EDIT: Rename Amnesia.exe to Penumbra.exe.

This helped a lot, had to download the non steam version though.


Thanks frag85 and Spyle. Wink
09-20-2010 01:27 PM
Find all posts by this user
Mano Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #30
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 3 Days, 7 Hours, 7 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: SLI support for the game

Need help for rename a steam version on Penumbre.exe, thank you !
09-25-2010 12:02 AM
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)