Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
How to make Script puzzles?
HumiliatioN Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,179
Threads: 64
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 18
#1
How to make Script puzzles?

Yeah. What code i need to:

- make like "pull couple books to trigger" and move shelf like normal Amnesia game.

- Pull or push to many switches in order to make some door open?

- Many more complicated puzzles and mixing chemicals to make explosive or combine items?

I dont know how to do any of this :/ Help! Sad

“Life is a game, play it”
(This post was last modified: 06-21-2011, 03:52 PM by HumiliatioN.)
06-21-2011, 03:51 PM
Find
WatzUpzPeepz Offline
Member

Posts: 106
Threads: 12
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
#2
RE: How to make Script puzzles?

Check the original game hps,the archive's hps should have the book script you want.

06-21-2011, 04:18 PM
Find
HumiliatioN Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,179
Threads: 64
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 18
#3
RE: How to make Script puzzles?

(06-21-2011, 04:18 PM)WatzUpzPeepz Wrote: Check the original game hps,the archive's hps should have the book script you want.

Okay, but how i can get to other puzzles work?

“Life is a game, play it”
06-21-2011, 04:20 PM
Find
Nye Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 250
Threads: 8
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 2
#4
RE: How to make Script puzzles?

It all depends upon what you want to do. There is no one script that will work for all puzzles Tongue Be creative and try to copy the game files, improve on your scripting etc.

If you have a specific puzzle question, I'm sure that we can help, but you will need to specify exactly what you want the puzzle be.

(This post was last modified: 06-21-2011, 04:25 PM by Nye.)
06-21-2011, 04:21 PM
Find
HumiliatioN Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,179
Threads: 64
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 18
#5
RE: How to make Script puzzles?

(06-21-2011, 04:21 PM)Nye Wrote: It all depends upon what you want to do. There is no one script that will work for all puzzles Tongue Be creative and try to copy the game files, improve on your scripting etc.

If you have a specific puzzle question, I'm sure that we can help, but you will need to specify exactly what you want the puzzle be.

Okay. I let you know when I know what kind of puzzle I want Smile

“Life is a game, play it”
06-21-2011, 04:26 PM
Find
rojkish Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 45
Threads: 0
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
#6
RE: How to make Script puzzles?

If you want the book puzzle you should use LocalVariables, i.e;

When the player pulls the first book, the localvariable sets to 1(add a timer to remove it after 10 seconds or whatever), and when he pulls the second, the localvariable turn to two etcetc

Firstly, you should make an area where the function will happen for all the books(when the book touches this area it begins to get higher variables)

So when the first book touches ScriptArea_1, you add a localvariable, and when the second book touches ScriptArea_2, you add another localvariable, and when the variables are at a certain number (let's say three), a function happens which moves the shelf.
(This post was last modified: 06-21-2011, 07:28 PM by rojkish.)
06-21-2011, 07:16 PM
Find
HumiliatioN Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,179
Threads: 64
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 18
#7
RE: How to make Script puzzles?

(06-21-2011, 07:16 PM)rojkish Wrote: If you want the book puzzle you should use LocalVariables, i.e;

When the player pulls the first book, the localvariable sets to 1(add a timer to remove it after 10 seconds or whatever), and when he pulls the second, the localvariable turn to two etcetc

Firstly, you should make an area where the function will happen for all the books(when the book touches this area it begins to get higher variables)

So when the first book touches ScriptArea_1, you add a localvariable, and when the second book touches ScriptArea_2, you add another localvariable, and when the variables are at a certain number (let's say three), a function happens which moves the shelf.

Can you show me example how to do it in code?

I'm confused :I


“Life is a game, play it”
06-22-2011, 01:08 PM
Find
laser50 Offline
Member

Posts: 242
Threads: 22
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
#8
RE: How to make Script puzzles?

From what i know from PAWN, is that you can make your own.

Just make a book collide with a Scriptarea (Like said above)
If that happened, just do something like: BooksPulled == 1);

No, I have NO idea how it works in Amnesia. but that should be a base.

Current Project: [WIP] Lost Memories
Progress: 15%
CLICK FOR MY MODDB PAGE
06-22-2011, 02:06 PM
Find
HumiliatioN Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,179
Threads: 64
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 18
#9
RE: How to make Script puzzles?

(06-22-2011, 02:06 PM)laser50 Wrote: From what i know from PAWN, is that you can make your own.

Just make a book collide with a Scriptarea (Like said above)
If that happened, just do something like: BooksPulled == 1);

No, I have NO idea how it works in Amnesia. but that should be a base.

Ugh. I dont have any clue how to do that? Confused

“Life is a game, play it”
06-22-2011, 10:23 PM
Find
rojkish Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 45
Threads: 0
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
#10
RE: How to make Script puzzles?

Just simply open 03_archives from the original game, take a look at their code and copy it and change the names so it suits you, if the script doesn't work, post here again and I'll take a look at it.
06-23-2011, 01:26 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)