Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
The custom enemy that won't work
Author Message
dasde Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 30
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
The custom enemy that won't work

Hey modders

So I have this problem with an enemy model I've made in 3DS max, and rigged with HumanIK in Maya, both the 2012 version. First of all, the enemy is lying down and is way too big when I open him in the ModelViewer, and when I open my version where he is rigged I just get the message "Modelview.exe has stopped responding".


What is my problem here, is it common?

Thanks
08-05-2011 02:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 66
Post: #2
RE: The custom enemy that won't work

You should use OpenCollada plugin while exporting, not FBX_DAE, but OpenCollada doesn't have 2012 support yet.

08-05-2011 02:17 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
dasde Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 30
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: The custom enemy that won't work

(08-05-2011 02:17 PM)Tanshaydar Wrote:  You should use OpenCollada plugin while exporting, not FBX_DAE, but OpenCollada doesn't have 2012 support yet.

Thats it. Damm, I guess I have to download the 2011 version then, good thing I am student and get it for free.
08-05-2011 02:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
MrBigzy Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 616
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
Post: #4
RE: The custom enemy that won't work

Also, Max is z-up, and the engine is Y-up, which is probably why he was lying down. And the units should be in meters.

When the modelview crashes, there's an error log named modelview.log, which should be in the main Amnesia directory. It'll list some errors at the bottom of the log whenever it crashes.
(This post was last modified: 08-05-2011 03:44 PM by MrBigzy.)
08-05-2011 03:42 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
NyteMyre Offline
Member

Posts: 70
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: The custom enemy that won't work

Can we haz screen? ():-)
08-05-2011 05:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
dasde Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 30
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: The custom enemy that won't work

So after re-rigging him in 2011 and exporting him with OpenCollada I still get the "stopped responding" message again. Also, sadly there is no log generated.
08-05-2011 07:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
MrBigzy Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 616
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
Post: #7
RE: The custom enemy that won't work

There should be. o.o

Do you have the modelview exe in the Amnesia directory?
08-05-2011 08:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
dasde Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 30
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: The custom enemy that won't work

(08-05-2011 08:33 PM)MrBigzy Wrote:  There should be. o.o

Do you have the modelview exe in the Amnesia directory?

I do.
08-05-2011 09:42 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
dasde Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 30
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: The custom enemy that won't work

Anyone who got an idea?
08-07-2011 10:50 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 66
Post: #10
RE: The custom enemy that won't work

Model View produce modelview.log, try with another Amnesia file (which is working). Tell us if it works to create that log.

08-07-2011 10:56 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)