Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
Updating script support, taking requests - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods - Development (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-38.html)
+--- Thread: Updating script support, taking requests (/thread-22612.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8


RE: Updating script support, taking requests - PutraenusAlivius - 08-29-2013

(08-28-2013, 05:26 PM)Patrik Wrote: Some nice suggestions so far. Keep them coming! Smile

(08-27-2013, 12:29 PM)JustAnotherPlayer Wrote: Can you make the if-else function that the parameter could turn Integers to Bools and vice-versa?

Could you rephrase this? Not sure I understand exactly.

Make the if-else function to be able to interpret from Bools too instead of just Integers.

PHP Code:
if(1

could be the same as

PHP Code:
if(true

EDIT:
Patrik, the source of this problem came from YC in this post
http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-21190-post-217490.html#pid217490


RE: Updating script support, taking requests - felixmole - 08-29-2013

(08-27-2013, 12:29 PM)JustAnotherPlayer Wrote: Can you make the if-else function that the parameter could turn Integers to Bools and vice-versa?

This is inherent to the AngelScript language, use casts (even though it's bad) to overcome these errors.


RE: Updating script support, taking requests - PutraenusAlivius - 08-29-2013

Hold on, change the if-else AND the switch statement to accommodate this please.


RE: Updating script support, taking requests - Adrianis - 08-29-2013

(08-29-2013, 01:12 PM)JustAnotherPlayer Wrote: Hold on, change the if-else AND the switch statement to accommodate this please.

That's not necessary

Code:
bool IntToBool (int x)
{
    if (x != 0) return true
    else return false
}

if (IntToBool(number)) ...



RE: Updating script support, taking requests - fancreeper - 08-29-2013

I have a little question.Is it possible to make outside levels,like in AAMFP,with the updated version of ATDD?I don't know if this question was asked before,but I can't find it anywhere.


RE: Updating script support, taking requests - WALP - 08-29-2013

(08-29-2013, 03:00 PM)fancreeper Wrote: I have a little question.Is it possible to make outside levels,like in AAMFP,with the updated version of ATDD?I don't know if this question was asked before,but I can't find it anywhere.
you can do that in the current version sir
(that is given you have the right custom assets)


RE: Updating script support, taking requests - Apjjm - 08-29-2013

A few more suggestions, mainly regarding entities:
  • GetEntityFilename(entity) - Determine the name of the entity file for a given entity in the map
  • GetEntityJoints(entity) - return a list of all joint names in the entity
  • GetWheelAngle
  • GetLampLit
  • Get/Set #tinderboxes & thalers the player has
  • Built in method to compose rotations - E.g. float[] applyRotation(Ax,Ay,Az,Bx,By,Bz) - returns a rotation from the resultant transform of A followed by B. I suggest this as if SetRotation is exposed, it will save us from having to re-implement matrices (or quaternions) for rotation composition.



RE: Updating script support, taking requests - felixmole - 08-29-2013

(08-29-2013, 08:44 AM)felixmole Wrote:
(08-27-2013, 12:29 PM)JustAnotherPlayer Wrote: Can you make the if-else function that the parameter could turn Integers to Bools and vice-versa?

This is inherent to the AngelScript language, use casts (even though it's bad) to overcome these errors.

In fact, AngelScript allows you to define implicit casts:

http://www.angelcode.com/angelscript/sdk/docs/manual/doc_reg_opbeh.html


RE: Updating script support, taking requests - Apjjm - 08-29-2013

I am against the integer to bool implicit conversion on the grounds of legible code. When the boolean type has been made available, it is best practice to use a boolean to represent a boolean value, rather than stick in some coercion to get around the fact that int isn't bool - especially when the language does not do this by default. Just use !=0 - it is far easier to see what is going on at a glance, and it's 3 extra characters.

See also:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/b6801kcy.aspx
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/5554725/which-value-is-better-to-use-boolean-true-or-integer-1
http://geosoft.no/development/cppstyle.html#Variables [Not the only standard obviously...]


RE: Updating script support, taking requests - felixmole - 08-29-2013

I agree with this.