Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
Need help with my custom story - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods - Development (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-38.html)
+---- Forum: Development Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-39.html)
+---- Thread: Need help with my custom story (/thread-11563.html)



Need help with my custom story - The Rock Worm - 11-28-2011

Using a simple tutorial, I designed my first area. As my first test area has the basics: floor, walls, I used an enlarged arch for the ceiling, basic items, and an entrapped water lurker/horror. Now that I have the area made, how do I add it to the game to even play it?



RE: Need help with my custom story - Unearthlybrutal - 11-28-2011

http://wiki.frictionalgames.com/hpl2/amnesia/custom_story


RE: Need help with my custom story - Obliviator27 - 11-28-2011

In your main Amnesia directory (where you dropped your editor files) there should be a folder called
custom_stories
In there, create a folder so that it's the name of your story.
In that folder, you'll need at least one folder and two files.
Create a folder and call it maps, and then drag and drop your map into that folder. Peace of cake.
Next, you'll want to create two text documents.
Create a custom_story_settings.cfg file. Be sure to alter the extension to .cfg so it's not a .txt.
I've taken the liberty of showing you what you'll need in there.
Code:
<Main
    Name = "[Name of your custom story]"
    Author = "[Your name!]"
    ImgFile = "[Can leave this blank if you wish]"
    MapsFolder = "maps"
    StartMap = "[Mapname as well as the .map extension. eg. Intro.map]"
    StartPos = "[Name of the PlayerStartArea you have in your map.]"
/>

Next up you'll want an extra.lang file. It varies depending upon your language, but I'm going to use english as an example.
So, again, create a new text file and call it extra_english.lang. Remember to alter the extension to .lang.
Code:
<LANGUAGE>
<CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
        <Entry Name="Description">[The description of your custom story]</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>
Sometimes the engine requires a resources tag in there. This is easy enough to add. Just add
<RESOURCES>
</RESOURCES>
before or after what I posted. If you have further questions, feel free to ask me. Smile




RE: Need help with my custom story - The Rock Worm - 11-28-2011

(11-28-2011, 05:11 PM)Obliviator27 Wrote: In your main Amnesia directory (where you dropped your editor files) there should be a folder called
custom_stories
In there, create a folder so that it's the name of your story.
In that folder, you'll need at least one folder and two files.
Create a folder and call it maps, and then drag and drop your map into that folder. Peace of cake.
Next, you'll want to create two text documents.
Create a custom_story_settings.cfg file. Be sure to alter the extension to .cfg so it's not a .txt.
I've taken the liberty of showing you what you'll need in there.
Code:
<Main
Name = "[Name of your custom story]"
Author = "[Your name!]"
ImgFile = "[Can leave this blank if you wish]"
MapsFolder = "maps"
StartMap = "[Mapname as well as the .map extension. eg. Intro.map]"
StartPos = "[Name of the PlayerStartArea you have in your map.]"
/>

Next up you'll want an extra.lang file. It varies depending upon your language, but I'm going to use english as an example.
So, again, create a new text file and call it extra_english.lang. Remember to alter the extension to .lang.
Code:
<LANGUAGE>
<CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
<Entry Name="Description">[The description of your custom story]</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>
Sometimes the engine requires a resources tag in there. This is easy enough to add. Just add
<RESOURCES>
</RESOURCES>
before or after what I posted. If you have further questions, feel free to ask me. Smile
It WORKED!!!! Confusedmile: Thank You! Thank You! Thank You! I was able to actually play my test area for the first time. I was worried that my arch ceiling, which didn't cover all of the wall tops and thus leading into the 'void' would cause an error like in Quake levels, but it was fine! No errors. Thank You my friend.