Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
[SCRIPT] How do i display a message on the screen? - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods - Development (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-38.html)
+---- Forum: Development Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-39.html)
+---- Thread: [SCRIPT] How do i display a message on the screen? (/thread-12517.html)



How do i display a message on the screen? - oscar1007 - 01-10-2012

Hey!

I havn't done so much in the .lang file lately so i have kind of forgotten how to do certain things. Now im wondering, how do i make a text show up at the screen (so the position of the text is like subtitles. Im not making subtitles.)

I have done nothing so far, only made a script area where the message is going to be seen.
Can som gently soul tell me what to write in the .lang file and in the other script?

Thanks!



RE: How do i display a message on the screen? - Elven - 01-10-2012

Basically create new category whatever name you want and new entity with some name. Use that one:

SetMessage(string& asTextCategory, string& asTextEntry, float afTime);

This one will show the text in the middle tho. Only way to get text where subtitles are is using that function:

void AddEffectVoice(string& asVoiceFile, string& asEffectFile, string& asTextCat, string& asTextEntry,
bool abUsePosition, string& asPosEntity, float afMinDistance, float afMaxDistance);
This adds a voice and an effect to be played. It is okay to call this many times in order to play many voices in a row. The EffectVoiceOverCallback is not called until ALL voices have finished.
asVoiceFile - the voice to play
asEffectFile - the effect to play
asTextEntry - the text entry in the .lang file
asTextCat - the category in the .lang file
abUsePosition - ?
asPosEntity - the entity at which the effect appears
afMinDistance - minimum distance to see the effect
afMaxDistance - maximum distance to see the effect


-- But that would mean that you need empty sound file attached to any objects and it would do the job.


RE: How do i display a message on the screen? - oscar1007 - 01-10-2012

(01-10-2012, 08:23 PM)Elven Wrote: Basically create new category whatever name you want and new entity with some name. Use that one:

SetMessage(string& asTextCategory, string& asTextEntry, float afTime);

This one will show the text in the middle tho. Only way to get text where subtitles are is using that function:

void AddEffectVoice(string& asVoiceFile, string& asEffectFile, string& asTextCat, string& asTextEntry,
bool abUsePosition, string& asPosEntity, float afMinDistance, float afMaxDistance);
This adds a voice and an effect to be played. It is okay to call this many times in order to play many voices in a row. The EffectVoiceOverCallback is not called until ALL voices have finished.
asVoiceFile - the voice to play
asEffectFile - the effect to play
asTextEntry - the text entry in the .lang file
asTextCat - the category in the .lang file
abUsePosition - ?
asPosEntity - the entity at which the effect appears
afMinDistance - minimum distance to see the effect
afMaxDistance - maximum distance to see the effect


-- But that would mean that you need empty sound file attached to any objects and it would do the job.
Ok thanks so if i want to display the message "RUUUN!!" as a text on the screen, how would i write it in the .lang file?

Thanks your awesome for helping! Smile




RE: How do i display a message on the screen? - Elven - 01-10-2012

<category name="Information">
<entry name="run">RUUUN!!</entry>
</category>


For example. This way you put into textCat "Information" and into TextEntry "run"

And in future, you can still use Information, just put different Entry same way.


RE: How do i display a message on the screen? - Statyk - 01-10-2012

(01-10-2012, 09:10 PM)Elven Wrote: RUUUN!!



For example. This way you put into textCat "Information" and into TextEntry "run"

And in future, you can still use Information, just put different Entry same way.

Make sure things are capitalized properly!

<CATEGORY Name="Information">
<Entry Name="run">RUUUN!!</Entry>
</CATEGORY>



RE: How do i display a message on the screen? - Elven - 01-10-2012

Oh yes, CATEGORY must be capitalized Smile... Told u that by heart, as I am in laptop Tongue.


RE: How do i display a message on the screen? - Statyk - 01-10-2012

(01-10-2012, 09:32 PM)Elven Wrote: Oh yes, CATEGORY must be capitalized Smile... Told u that by heart, as I am in laptop Tongue.
So am I =P WERK DEM FINGERS


RE: How do i display a message on the screen? - Elven - 01-10-2012

Well, I am not posting freak >.< Big Grin


RE: How do i display a message on the screen? - Statyk - 01-10-2012

(01-10-2012, 09:40 PM)Elven Wrote: Well, I am not posting freak >.< Big Grin


Yeeeeeeahhhh... It doesn't feel like 800+ posts >> I come here often.


RE: How do i display a message on the screen? - Elven - 01-10-2012

I come when I don't have so busy times...