Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
How to make a wind effect? - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods - Development (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-38.html)
+---- Forum: Development Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-39.html)
+---- Thread: How to make a wind effect? (/thread-18120.html)



How to make a wind effect? - Melvin - 09-03-2012

Hey FrictionalGames Forum,

I want to know how to make this scenario:

You walk into a room, and suddenly you hear wind whistling through your ears, and you see wind flowing towards you.

I know how to trigger the sound. (PlaySoundAtEntity etc.)
I know how to set up an area.

My main question here: In which catagory do I find the wind effects? (like in the first Amnesia level when a door is blown open by the wind) is it in the particles? If yes, how do I trigger a particle if the player colides with an area?

Thanks guys!
-SmokeMelvin


RE: How to make a wind effect? - lolmaster - 09-03-2012

CreateParticleSystemAtEntity(string& asPSName, string& asPSFile, string& asEntity, bool abSavePS);
It might be dust_whirl_large.


RE: How to make a wind effect? - Melvin - 09-03-2012

(09-03-2012, 01:01 AM)lolmaster Wrote: CreateParticleSystemAtEntity(string& asPSName, string& asPSFile, string& asEntity, bool abSavePS);
It might be dust_whirl_large.
Thanks its exactly what I looked for.

But, the script for the activation on colide... I tried this:

void AtStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "Wind_Activate", "WindBlowing", true, 1);

}

void WindBlowing(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
CreateParticleSystemAtEntity("", "ps_dust_whirl.ps", "WindBlow", false);
PlaySoundAtEntity("", "scare_wind.snt", "Player", 0, false); //Works
}

But no particle there.. am I doing something wrong?


RE: How to make a wind effect? - Kazakarumariou - 09-03-2012

Make a script area. Use that as "WindBlow". AKA Rename the script area as Windblow and erase the old thing


RE: How to make a wind effect? - Melvin - 09-03-2012

(09-03-2012, 01:46 AM)Harthex Wrote: Make a script area. Use that as "WindBlow". AKA Rename the script area as Windblow and erase the old thing
Ah! I get it.. I thought I had to place a particle. Thank you both very much!