Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
Text not appearing on door - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods - Development (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-38.html)
+---- Forum: Development Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-39.html)
+---- Thread: Text not appearing on door (/thread-20230.html)



Text not appearing on door - Spaysh - 02-07-2013

Hey guys, just wondering why my doors won't display the messages when they are interacted by the player, the code for the map is
Code:
void LockedDoor1(string &in entity)
{
    if(GetSwingDoorLocked("Locked_Door_1") == true)
    {
        SetMessage("Message", "LockedDoor1msg", 0);
    }

}
void TortureDoorLocked(string &in entity)
{
    if(GetSwingDoorLocked("Torture_Door_1") == true)
    {
        SetMessage("Message", "TortureDoorLockedmsg", 0);
    }

}
void MonsterDoorLocked(string &in entity)
{
    if(GetSwingDoorLocked("MonsterDoor") == true)
    {
        SetMessage("Message", "MonsterDoorLockedmsg", 0);
    }

}
and my extra_english.lang file looks like this
Code:
<LANGUAGE>
   <CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
      <Entry Name="Description">Trying out HPL Editor!</Entry>
   </CATEGORY>
   <CATEGORY Name="Inventory">
    <Entry Name="ItemDesc_Key1">Key to Cellar</Entry>
    <Entry Name="ItemName_Key1">Cellar Key</Entry>
    <Entry Name="ItemDesc_crowbar>A sturdy crowbar used to pry doors</Entry>
    <Entry Name="ItemName_crowbar>Crowbar</Entry>
   </CATEGORY>
   <CATEGORY Name=“Message”>
    <Entry Name =“LockedDoor1msg”>This door is locked, maybe if I had a key...</Entry>
    <Entry Name =“MonsterDoorLockedmsg”>This door is locked with a mechanism.</Entry>
    <Entry Name =“TortureDoorLockedmsg”>This door is slightly locked, might be able to pry open...</Entry>
   </CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>
I have been looking at this for ages now and I still cannot see what is the problem, all the door names are spelt correctly, so its not that.
Any help is appreciated


RE: Text not appearing on door - The chaser - 02-07-2013

You have the script wrong:

Your script:

Code:
void LockedDoor1(string &in entity)

{

    if(GetSwingDoorLocked("Locked_Door_1") == true)

    {

        SetMessage("Message", "LockedDoor1msg", 0);

    }



}

void TortureDoorLocked(string &in entity)

{

    if(GetSwingDoorLocked("Torture_Door_1") == true)

    {

        SetMessage("Message", "TortureDoorLockedmsg", 0);

    }



}

void MonsterDoorLocked(string &in entity)

{

    if(GetSwingDoorLocked("MonsterDoor") == true)

    {

        SetMessage("Message", "MonsterDoorLockedmsg", 0);

    }



}

It should be like:

Code:
void LockedDoor1(string &in Entity)

{

    if(GetSwingDoorLocked("Locked_Door_1") == true)

    {

        SetMessage("Message", "LockedDoor1msg", 0);

    }



}

void TortureDoorLocked(string &in Entity)

{

    if(GetSwingDoorLocked("Torture_Door_1") == true)

    {

        SetMessage("Message", "TortureDoorLockedmsg", 0);

    }



}

void MonsterDoorLocked(string &in Entity)

{

    if(GetSwingDoorLocked("MonsterDoor") == true)

    {

        SetMessage("Message", "MonsterDoorLockedmsg", 0);

    }



}



RE: Text not appearing on door - PutraenusAlivius - 02-07-2013

Using the Lang Editor, something is wrong. FYI, the Error is at Line 8, Position 69.
Here you go, bro.
PHP Code:
<LANGUAGE>
  <
RESOURCES>
  </
RESOURCES>
  <
CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
    <
Entry Name="Description">Trying out HPL Editor!</Entry>
  </
CATEGORY>
  <
CATEGORY Name="Inventory">
    <
Entry Name="ItemDesc_Key1">Key to the Cellar</Entry>
    <
Entry Name="ItemName_Key1">Cellar Key</Entry>
    <
Entry Name="ItemDesc_crowbar">A sturdy crowbar used to pry doors</Entry>
    <
Entry Name="ItemName_crowbar">Crowbar</Entry>
  </
CATEGORY>
  <
CATEGORY Name="Message">
    <
Entry Name="MonsterDoorLockedmsg">This door is locked with a mechanism.</Entry>
    <
Entry Name="TortureDoorLockedmsg">This door is slightly lockedmight be able to pry open...</Entry>
    <
Entry Name="LockedDoor1msg">This door is lockedmaybe if I had a key...</Entry>
  </
CATEGORY>
</
LANGUAGE
Hope it helps.

(02-07-2013, 03:18 PM)The chaser Wrote: You have the script wrong:

Your script:

Code:
void LockedDoor1(string &in entity)

{

    if(GetSwingDoorLocked("Locked_Door_1") == true)

    {

        SetMessage("Message", "LockedDoor1msg", 0);

    }



}

void TortureDoorLocked(string &in entity)

{

    if(GetSwingDoorLocked("Torture_Door_1") == true)

    {

        SetMessage("Message", "TortureDoorLockedmsg", 0);

    }



}

void MonsterDoorLocked(string &in entity)

{

    if(GetSwingDoorLocked("MonsterDoor") == true)

    {

        SetMessage("Message", "MonsterDoorLockedmsg", 0);

    }



}

It should be like:

Code:
void LockedDoor1(string &in Entity)

{

    if(GetSwingDoorLocked("Locked_Door_1") == true)

    {

        SetMessage("Message", "LockedDoor1msg", 0);

    }



}

void TortureDoorLocked(string &in Entity)

{

    if(GetSwingDoorLocked("Torture_Door_1") == true)

    {

        SetMessage("Message", "TortureDoorLockedmsg", 0);

    }



}

void MonsterDoorLocked(string &in Entity)

{

    if(GetSwingDoorLocked("MonsterDoor") == true)

    {

        SetMessage("Message", "MonsterDoorLockedmsg", 0);

    }



}
Dear the chaser, something is wrong with his .lang file.


RE: Text not appearing on door - The chaser - 02-07-2013

*Clears throat*

Ehem. I didn't see the error in the .lang file, but he had some Paremeters wrong (he just had "entity" instead "Entity").

With JustAnotherPlayer corrected .lang file and your fixed by me script, it should be fine.


RE: Text not appearing on door - Spaysh - 02-07-2013

Cheers guys, started all this monday so im still a little rusty xD


RE: Text not appearing on door - Adrianis - 02-07-2013

(02-07-2013, 03:51 PM)The chaser Wrote: ... but he had some Paremeters wrong (he just had "entity" instead "Entity").

As long as the types are correct, it shouldn't matter how you name the parameter