Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
StartPos for Level Door? - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-35.html)
+--- Thread: StartPos for Level Door? (/thread-7027.html)



StartPos for Level Door? - Austums - 03-24-2011

How exactly do I set my StartPos?

Also, my level door, under TextEntry in the Level Editor is called "Living Quarters" but when I look at the door, no text appears? O_o


RE: StartPos for Level Door? - Russ Money - 03-24-2011

(03-24-2011, 12:25 AM)Austums Wrote: How exactly do I set my StartPos?

Also, my level door, under TextEntry in the Level Editor is called "Living Quarters" but when I look at the door, no text appears? O_o

The StartPos for your next map?

The same way you made a StartPos for your first map. Place another PlayerStart Area on the next one. On your level door, add the name of the PlayerStart Area of the map it's leading to.

For the TextEntry, that would be the name of your "Entry Name=" in your .lang file.

Something like this:
Code:
                                        
<CATEGORY Name="Doors">
    <Entry Name="LevelDoor1">Living Quarters</Entry>
</CATEGORY>

Then just place "LevelDoor1" in the TextEntry field.


RE: StartPos for Level Door? - Austums - 03-24-2011

Awesome, thank you so much!

So, this question is along the same lines as the extra_english stuff. I am trying to name my key and what not, and I am using this script:

Code:
</CATEGORY>
<CATEGORY Name="Inventory">
<EntryName="ItemName_key_study_1">Key to the Living Quarters</Entry>
<Entry Name="ItemDesc_key_study_1">It's the key to the family living quarters.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>

But it doesn't work. Instead, it makes it so none of my language files show up in my level. The only way to get them back is if I delete what is above. Huh


RE: StartPos for Level Door? - Russ Money - 03-24-2011

Someone was just having a similar problem. Check this reply.
http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-7024-post-59391.html#pid59391

Edit: Also, I think have multiple underscores, the "_", in the item name may mess it up, try naming it all together like,

<Entry Name="ItemName_keystudy1">Key to the Living Quarters</Entry>

Then go back and change the name and CustomSubItemTypeName of the key entity.


RE: StartPos for Level Door? - Austums - 03-24-2011

Ahh, just saw that thread after submitting my previous post. I removed the underscores, but it still won't work. Huh

I posted the code I'm using and all other info in the other thread Tongue