Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
Resizing enemies? - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-35.html)
+--- Thread: Resizing enemies? (/thread-7828.html)

Pages: 1 2


Resizing enemies? - Shadowfied - 05-06-2011

Hi. I have a question / problem.

In my map, I have made a cabinet which opens by a grunt that spawns when you go near it, however the grunts head almost goes through the top of the cabinet and he is looking the opposite way even though I rotated him in the editor. I tried making him smaller but that doesn't work.

Is there any way to resize and rotate enemies?

Sorry if this have been asked before, I searched a bit but couldn't find any similar thread.


Thanks in advance.


RE: Resizing enemies? - Roenlond - 05-06-2011

It should be possible to resize them - at least you should be able to rotate them. Are you perhaps loading an old file while editing another, or loading from cache?


RE: Resizing enemies? - Shadowfied - 05-06-2011

Thanks for the quick reply.

I am loading the same map, all other adjustments are applied when I reload the map. Also I noticed that if I make him super-huge, the moment he spawns he is huge for like half a second, then changes to normal size.

Edit: No matter how much I rotate him he still spawns looking in one direction, which is the opposite of which he is rotated.

I want him to look out of the cabinet, instead he looks straight at the back of it so you have to jump or do some kind of noise to get his attention.


RE: Resizing enemies? - Apjjm - 05-06-2011

I don't think you can resize enemies and have the changes stick. If you want him to turn around, you could try putting a patrol node in the direction you want him to face a tiny way in-front of him.
Edit: and also make him follow a patrol path containing that node at the start of the map.


RE: Resizing enemies? - Shadowfied - 05-06-2011

Thanks! Will definitely try that and tell you if it works.
I put a path node but he doesn't do anything. The node is set to Active, do I have to use a script or something so that he follows it?


RE: Resizing enemies? - Khyrpa - 05-06-2011

yep
AddEnemyPatrolNode(string& asName, string& asNodeName, float afWaitTime, string& asAnimation);


RE: Resizing enemies? - Shadowfied - 05-06-2011

Where do I have to put it? In the void OnStart part?


RE: Resizing enemies? - Khyrpa - 05-06-2011

Put it in the same function that you spawn your enemy in.


RE: Resizing enemies? - Shadowfied - 05-06-2011

Doesn't work.

Don't I have to change anything more in it?
Do I only have to paste "AddEnemyPatrolNode(string& asName, string& asNodeName, float afWaitTime, string& asAnimation); "?


RE: Resizing enemies? - Roenlond - 05-06-2011

(05-06-2011, 03:52 PM)Shadowfied Wrote: Doesn't work.

Don't I have to change anything more in it?
Do I only have to paste "AddEnemyPatrolNode(string& asName, string& asNodeName, float afWaitTime, string& asAnimation); "?

AddEnemyPatrolNode("NameOfMonsterEntity", "NameOfPathNode", 1.0f, "");

1.0f is the wait time and the empty quotes should be filled with the animation you want to play, that's usually empty though.