Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[Model Request] Flower
Author Message
Juby Away
Senior Member

Posts: 290
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 5
Post: #11
RE: [Model Request] Flower

Well I got the model set up and everything, except that the in-game model it acts as if I never changed the textures to red, it is black in the level editor and in-game when it clearly is the rose I made in the model editor, it's pretty frustrating, but I wouldn't be surprised if it was like a lower-case letter or such of that type. Will edit later if I fix this.

Model Editor - http://tinypic.com/r/dwt89w/5
Level Editor - http://tinypic.com/r/f580ew/5

Insanity. Static.
(This post was last modified: 01-16-2012 05:25 PM by Juby.)
01-16-2012 05:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Acies Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,642
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 73
Post: #12
RE: [Model Request] Flower

same .ent file?

That .ent file would reference back to your black rose. Try opening it in notepad++ and edit the directory for the .msh and .dae.

[Image: mZiYnxe.png]


01-16-2012 06:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
JenniferOrange Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 424
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 33
Post: #13
RE: [Model Request] Flower

(01-16-2012 05:53 AM)Juby Wrote:  Wow, I just so happen to have a flower item complete with a good icon in the inventory for my personal use...
However it is black, so I can re-color it if you want, whenever I get to it :/
That would actually be fantastic. : D

Ba-da bing, ba-da boom.
01-16-2012 08:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Statyk Offline
Modmau5

Posts: 4,294
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 238
Post: #14
RE: [Model Request] Flower

(01-16-2012 05:07 PM)Juby Wrote:  Well I got the model set up and everything, except that the in-game model it acts as if I never changed the textures to red, it is black in the level editor and in-game when it clearly is the rose I made in the model editor, it's pretty frustrating, but I wouldn't be surprised if it was like a lower-case letter or such of that type. Will edit later if I fix this.

Model Editor - http://tinypic.com/r/dwt89w/5
Level Editor - http://tinypic.com/r/f580ew/5

The .dae is still reading the file as the black one. This is an issue that can only be solved by putting the object into a 3D modelling program and finding the new texture. This allows the replacement of the texture, and also gives the option of making a secondary version (you could have the black, AND the red one)...

To test if a object's texture is placed correctly, put it in the model editor and click the "cog wheels"/configuration button and check if it is changed. It most likely will show the original here, but the newly placed in the main window. =\ Dumb extra steps must be taken.

[Image: rw4j35x.gif]
(This post was last modified: 01-16-2012 08:30 PM by Statyk.)
01-16-2012 08:29 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,475
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 234
Post: #15
RE: [Model Request] Flower

(01-16-2012 08:29 PM)Statyk Wrote:  This is an issue that can only be solved by putting the object into a 3D modelling program and finding the new texture.

Unless you take the "easier route" and open the .dae file in a text editor and change the name of the .dds file referenced.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
01-16-2012 08:36 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Statyk Offline
Modmau5

Posts: 4,294
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 238
Post: #16
RE: [Model Request] Flower

(01-16-2012 08:36 PM)Your Computer Wrote:  Unless you take the "easier route" and open the .dae file in a text editor and change the name of the .dds file referenced.
>> Last time I did that, I got crazy black letters... Basically nothing readable.

But I just checked and you're right, I have no idea what happened last time. Disregard what I said!

[Image: rw4j35x.gif]
01-16-2012 08:38 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Juby Away
Senior Member

Posts: 290
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 5
Post: #17
RE: [Model Request] Flower

(01-16-2012 08:01 PM)JenniferOrange Wrote:  
(01-16-2012 05:53 AM)Juby Wrote:  Wow, I just so happen to have a flower item complete with a good icon in the inventory for my personal use...
However it is black, so I can re-color it if you want, whenever I get to it :/
That would actually be fantastic. : D
Okay got it to work finally. Here you go -
http://www.mediafire.com/?zx09w0c63wyl69e
Although I couldn't get the custom bulb texture of mine to be on there, it still looks good without it.
(Just extract to the entites folder, then in the editor it will be under the "category" Juby)

And this should go into your language file under the "Inventory" category.
        <Entry Name="ItemName_JubyRose">Rose</Entry>
        <Entry Name="ItemDesc_JubyRose">A nice looking rose</Entry>

Insanity. Static.
01-16-2012 11:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
JenniferOrange Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 424
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 33
Post: #18
RE: [Model Request] Flower

The flower looks so pretty Juby! Thank you thank you! : D I'll remember your username for credits~

Ba-da bing, ba-da boom.
01-18-2012 11:39 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
csamuel Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
RE: [Model Request] Flower

(01-16-2012 08:01 PM)JenniferOrange Wrote:  
(01-16-2012 05:53 AM)Juby Wrote:  Wow, I just so happen to have a flower item complete with a good icon in the inventory for my personal use...
However it is black, so I can re-color it if you want, whenever I get to it :/
That would actually be fantastic. : D
Is there a possibility that you could do this for me as well or at least maybe let me know how to do it myself, please? Smile I would like to get a fire red flower uk with a sprinkle of yellow and blue. Is that possible?
02-20-2012 10:11 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Kman Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 4,186
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 217
Post: #20
RE: [Model Request] Flower

(02-20-2012 10:11 AM)csamuel Wrote:  
(01-16-2012 08:01 PM)JenniferOrange Wrote:  
(01-16-2012 05:53 AM)Juby Wrote:  Wow, I just so happen to have a flower item complete with a good icon in the inventory for my personal use...
However it is black, so I can re-color it if you want, whenever I get to it :/
That would actually be fantastic. : D
Is there a possibility that you could do this for me as well or at least maybe let me know how to do it myself, please? Smile I would like to get a fire red flower uk with a sprinkle of yellow and blue. Is that possible?
Well you COULD retexture it, but that might be kinda hard.

Posting Freak
02-20-2012 10:32 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)