Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Script Help Setting Billboard Inactive
Author Message
heyitsrobert97 Offline
Member

Posts: 68
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Setting Billboard Inactive

Hi, I Need to Make A Billboard be inactive then when i collide with an area it activate i looked but i don't think there is a script for it. does anyone know how?

This Darn House! , Four Doors, Youtube
04-29-2012 09:03 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,474
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 234
Post: #2
RE: Setting Billboard Inactive

One way to do it: attach the billboard to a light and then turn off the light.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
04-29-2012 09:06 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
heyitsrobert97 Offline
Member

Posts: 68
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Setting Billboard Inactive

(04-29-2012 09:06 AM)Your Computer Wrote:  One way to do it: attach the billboard to a light and then turn off the light.
I Did it and also added the setlightvisible false script into hps. then setlightvisible true into the collide area script but the light is still active? I also Set the Light Inactive in the level editor. Is it Because Its A Boxlight. If it is that i will just create a tiny pointlight somewhere and have that set to active when you collide instead and leave the boxlight active

This Darn House! , Four Doors, Youtube
04-29-2012 09:57 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,474
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 234
Post: #4
RE: Setting Billboard Inactive

I don't think the type of light matters. If it doesn't work, then you should verify if the collide callback is being triggered, compare the name of the light in the script with the name of the light in the level editor, etc. Fading the light to black should also work.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
04-29-2012 10:02 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
heyitsrobert97 Offline
Member

Posts: 68
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Setting Billboard Inactive

got it working. for some reason it would not connect to the box light. so i just made 2 small pointlights and connected 1 each to 1 billboard. and the boxlight to nothing. then all 3 lights and 2 billboards activated when i walked into the script areaBig Grin

This Darn House! , Four Doors, Youtube
04-29-2012 10:41 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)