Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Thread Closed 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Missing Trap Door
Author Message
Openshaw Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Solved: 9 Months, 3 Weeks, 6 Days, 7 Hours, 21 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago Missing Trap Door

Greetings,

It is my second playtrough of this great experience, i've got to the distillery and noticed that the Trap door is missing:

[Image: trappypfki.png]

As you can see, the wooden splinter is still in there. I've walked around and noticed no other objects missing. The hpl.log also gives no conclusion about that.

It's the first time i encounter a problem in Amnesia, it is very minor so no big deal. Amnesia is well polished otherwise Smile

Thanks.
09-22-2010 12:53 AM
Find all posts by this user
311alien Offline
Member

Posts: 52
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Solved: 9 Months, 3 Weeks, 6 Days, 7 Hours, 21 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: Missing Trap Door

(09-22-2010 12:53 AM)Openshaw Wrote:  Greetings,

It is my second playtrough of this great experience, i've got to the distillery and noticed that the Trap door is missing:

[Image: trappypfki.png]

As you can see, the wooden splinter is still in there. I've walked around and noticed no other objects missing. The hpl.log also gives no conclusion about that.

It's the first time i encounter a problem in Amnesia, it is very minor so no big deal. Amnesia is well polished otherwise Smile

Thanks.

I am having a very similar problem (http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-4628.html)

Just wondering what kind/model video card do you have?
09-22-2010 01:08 AM
Find all posts by this user
Openshaw Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Solved: 9 Months, 3 Weeks, 6 Days, 7 Hours, 21 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: Missing Trap Door

Yeah, maybe our problems are connected. I'm using an NVidia GeForce GTS250.

Are your objects popping up after you restart the game ? I just restarted the Game and Steam, loaded the Save and the Trap door was there. As before, no change in logs.
09-22-2010 01:19 AM
Find all posts by this user
311alien Offline
Member

Posts: 52
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Solved: 9 Months, 3 Weeks, 6 Days, 7 Hours, 21 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: Missing Trap Door

(09-22-2010 01:19 AM)Openshaw Wrote:  Yeah, maybe our problems are connected. I'm using an NVidia GeForce GTS250.

Are your objects popping up after you restart the game ? I just restarted the Game and Steam, loaded the Save and the Trap door was there. As before, no change in logs.

I did what you did...I closed and exited the game. I also closed the steam app (checked Tskmgr to be sure). I then relaunched the Steam App and ran Amnesia: TDD again (Amnesia has to be one of the best games I've ever played...and I've been a gamer since he mid 80's. No other horror game has scared me. They are all predictable and non ambient. TDD scares the p00p outta me, lol...but I digress)

When I saved my game, I made sure to do it in another room. When I came back into the room with the wine rack, it's still missing. I am using a ATI Radeon HD 4870 w/ 512mb ram. I have ATI overdrive unlocked so I can manually set the fan speed to 45% (no overclocking). It keeps the card running at about 40c (I think that's good, I have no idea).


Attached File(s)
.jpg  Screen_Screenshot_003(1).jpg (Size: 278.48 KB / Downloads: 11)
09-22-2010 01:38 AM
Find all posts by this user
Openshaw Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Solved: 9 Months, 3 Weeks, 6 Days, 7 Hours, 21 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: Missing Trap Door

Hm, have you ever tried to download the Mod Package and view maps with missing objects in the map viewer ? Maybe this can point in the direction of origin (you never know, maybe it's bound to specific code or a general problem).
09-22-2010 01:52 AM
Find all posts by this user
311alien Offline
Member

Posts: 52
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Solved: 9 Months, 3 Weeks, 6 Days, 7 Hours, 21 Minutes, 50 Seconds ago RE: Missing Trap Door

(09-22-2010 01:52 AM)Openshaw Wrote:  Hm, have you ever tried to download the Mod Package and view maps with missing objects in the map viewer ? Maybe this can point in the direction of origin (you never know, maybe it's bound to specific code or a general problem).

Hey Buddy,

The guys at Frictional fixed the issue for me...I downloaded my game under steam...not sure if you did. I "verified" my local game files and they did not validate. There was corruption in my local game files. It auto re-downloaded the game files. I reloaded my game and lo' and behold, the wine rack is there. Give it a try if you downloaded the game using steam
09-23-2010 12:02 AM
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)