Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Post Reply 
Demo stops working when entering the mine
Author Message
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 20
Post: #11
Not Solved RE: Demo stops working when entering the mine

Thib_G Wrote:I think it's related to VSync, no ?

What Distro/system specs are you running on?

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
05-19-2007 08:31 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Thib_G Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 35
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Not Solved RE: Demo stops working when entering the mine

Urkle, I think it's about VSync because :
- It's one of the settings that changes,
- I had to disable VBlank in Beryl to fix a little issue with it ( hang when coming back to X from a tty )
05-19-2007 08:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Thib_G Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 35
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Not Solved RE: Demo stops working when entering the mine

I'm running Feisty fawn and I use nvidia-glx drivers ( waiting for nouveau )
05-19-2007 08:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 20
Post: #14
Not Solved RE: Demo stops working when entering the mine

Thib_G Wrote:Urkle, I think it's about VSync because :
- It's one of the settings that changes,
- I had to disable VBlank in Beryl to fix a little issue with it ( hang when coming back to X from a tty )

Yeah I have that issue too when running the game inside beryl.. Hence I always debug from my Mac instead of from another terminalSmile Never tried turning off vblank.

But in the game sync to vblank is disabled by default.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
05-19-2007 09:03 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Thib_G Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 35
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Not Solved RE: Demo stops working when entering the mine

Urkle, I'm not playing with beryl, but it's the same Xorg configuration, so, it could be related.
If it's not because of you, you should put this issue on a FAQ, for instance.
05-19-2007 09:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
MIT_Service Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #16
Not Solved RE: Demo stops working when entering the mine

First: I got it running now!

My previous Situation: I installed the demo to a new directory, but did not remove the beta3 first. I am using XFCE4 as a window manager with the compositing extension for Xorg enabled. But I'm not using Beryl or compiz or anything like that...

I tried disabling vblank, but that didn't help. Then I removed the whole .frictionalgames dir from my home directory and the demo worked like a charm!

Looking forward to buying the full game soon Wink
05-20-2007 11:11 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


[-]
Quick Reply
Message
Type your reply to this message here.

Image Verification
Please enter the text within the image on the left in to the text box below. This process is used to prevent automated posts.



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)