Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Closed 
Penumbra overture runs slow
Author Message
janosik Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 3 Weeks, 7 Hours, 58 Minutes, 54 Seconds ago Penumbra overture runs slow

Penumbra overture runs very slow on my computer, I tried resolution 1280x1024 (all other settings default) which is not that high and the game is barely playable (not sure what the FPS is exactly).

Software:

debian unstable
kernel 2.6.18 (using in-kernel alsa)
ATI driver 8.31.5

Hardware:

Intel® Pentium® 4 CPU 2.40GHz
ATI Technologies Inc Radeon R350 [Radeon 9800 Pro]
Creative Labs SB Live! Platinum

E.g. Gish runs at what looks like normal speed, also tried Tremulous (IIRC) and it was running fine.

What does everybody else see?

TIA,

erik
05-21-2007 06:54 AM
Find all posts by this user
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,095
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
Post: #2
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 3 Weeks, 7 Hours, 58 Minutes, 54 Seconds ago RE: Penumbra overture runs slow

I think that running the game at a high resolution like 1280x1024 on a 9800pro is the cause. Try running at a lower resolution, or turn of/down some detail, for example dynamic shadows.
05-21-2007 07:10 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
janosik Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 3 Weeks, 7 Hours, 58 Minutes, 54 Seconds ago RE: Penumbra overture runs slow

jens Wrote:I think that running the game at a high resolution like 1280x1024 on a 9800pro is the cause. Try running at a lower resolution, or turn of/down some detail, for example dynamic shadows.

I can't really find too many comparable games for linux but the ones I tried (gish, tremulous, sauerbraten) all seem to run fine in whatever the highest resolution is they support (1280x1024 or 1600x1200).

Turned off all details, changed resolution to 800x600 and game seems OK, it's still not too snappy but that might be intentional?

It's been quite some time since I heard anybody referring to 1280x1024 as high resolution:-) What hardware is recommended under linux to be able to play penumbra in 1280x1024 or higher resolution? Is 1280x1024 the highest it suports? Is there any way to figure out the framerate?

thanks,

ero
05-23-2007 06:55 AM
Find all posts by this user
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 20
Post: #4
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 3 Weeks, 7 Hours, 58 Minutes, 54 Seconds ago RE: Penumbra overture runs slow

janosik Wrote:
jens Wrote:I think that running the game at a high resolution like 1280x1024 on a 9800pro is the cause. Try running at a lower resolution, or turn of/down some detail, for example dynamic shadows.

I can't really find too many comparable games for linux but the ones I tried (gish, tremulous, sauerbraten) all seem to run fine in whatever the highest resolution is they support (1280x1024 or 1600x1200).

Penumbra, uses a lot more of the fragment and vertex programs on the video card than those games do. Plus Penumbra also does alot of physics calculations as well.
Because of that and the dynamic lighting/shadows a high end video card is required to do a higher resolution.

The Radeon 9800 is on the low end of supported ATI cards and as such you are not going to be able to pull off a high framerate and high resolution. I've been able to run at 1024x768 with most effects on (didn't turn on the antialiasing and the motion blur) on my Nvidia 6600 GTS w/ an Athlon 2100+ without any issues.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
05-23-2007 02:52 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
janosik Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 3 Weeks, 7 Hours, 58 Minutes, 54 Seconds ago RE: Penumbra overture runs slow

Urkle Wrote:...
Because of that and the dynamic lighting/shadows a high end video card is required to do a higher resolution.
...

any ideas what would a high end card in this case be? i.e. well enough supported linux card that would run penumbra in 1280x1024 resolution, it's hard to figure out how well the given card runs under linux (each of them seems to have different gotchas not mentioned (or not explained well) in reviews)

erik
05-24-2007 09:10 AM
Find all posts by this user
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 20
Post: #6
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 3 Weeks, 7 Hours, 58 Minutes, 54 Seconds ago RE: Penumbra overture runs slow

janosik Wrote:
Urkle Wrote:...
Because of that and the dynamic lighting/shadows a high end video card is required to do a higher resolution.
...

any ideas what would a high end card in this case be? i.e. well enough supported linux card that would run penumbra in 1280x1024 resolution, it's hard to figure out how well the given card runs under linux (each of them seems to have different gotchas not mentioned (or not explained well) in reviews)

erik

As I mentioned, I'm running an Nvidia 6600 GTS 256MB card and able to run at 1024x768 without issues.. You should be able to get and 7000 or 8000 series Nvidia card and run at that high resolution given you CPU speed. Also Nvidia cards have much better driver support under linux than ATI.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
05-24-2007 03:36 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
cheesecake Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: Jun 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 3 Weeks, 7 Hours, 58 Minutes, 54 Seconds ago RE: Penumbra overture runs slow

I am playing Penumbra on a 6600 256mb with an AMD 2500+ with about 27 fps at 1680x1050 with Depth of Field and motion blur turned off
06-03-2007 04:47 AM
Find all posts by this user
Dan-X Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 3 Weeks, 7 Hours, 58 Minutes, 54 Seconds ago RE: Penumbra overture runs slow

I have AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 1.80GHz, 896 RAM and 256mb video ATI Radeon Xpress 1250 but still work slow, very slowSadSadSadSad(Sad(
04-26-2008 09:29 PM
Find all posts by this user
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 20
Post: #9
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 3 Weeks, 7 Hours, 58 Minutes, 54 Seconds ago RE: Penumbra overture runs slow

Dan-X Wrote:I have AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 1.80GHz, 896 RAM and 256mb video ATI Radeon Xpress 1250 but still work slow, very slowSadSadSadSad(Sad(

Elaborate on "very slow". Do you mean like 1 or 2 frames per second slow? If so you may not have the ATI binary drivers installed or configured correctly.

You can check this by running
glxinfo | grep direct rendering
direct rendering will be "Yes" if you have the drivers configured correctly.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
04-26-2008 09:41 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)