Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Closed 
[solved]low fps
Author Message
r00b Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 4 Days, 7 Hours, 20 Seconds ago [solved]low fps

I have played up to the Refinery with normal fps. As soon as I entered the refinery my frame rate dropped to around 1fps. I have tried changing the settings to their lowest but that had no effect. The game has become virtually unplayable at this frame rate, please help.

Gentoo
Geforce 6600GT 128MB
resolution at 1680x1050
1GB ram
(This post was last modified: 05-29-2007 02:36 PM by jens.)
05-27-2007 03:06 AM
Find all posts by this user
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
Post: #2
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 4 Days, 7 Hours, 20 Seconds ago RE: low fps

Lower your resolution and try again. Refinery should not be a resource heavy map.
05-27-2007 08:46 AM
Find all posts by this user
r00b Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 4 Days, 7 Hours, 20 Seconds ago RE: low fps

Thomas Wrote:Lower your resolution and try again. Refinery should not be a resource heavy map.

I lowered resolution to 800x600 and had to turn everything off textures to low and I kept getting around 1 to 5 seconds of normal frame rate and then about a second or 2 pause. After I got to the past the map my frame rate returned to normal.
05-27-2007 05:35 PM
Find all posts by this user
anti-trend
Unregistered

 
Post: #4
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 4 Days, 7 Hours, 20 Seconds ago RE: low fps

I can confirm this problem. I see high/smooth FPS on everything else so far, and < 5 FPS in the refinery.

Test Host:
Debian Sid
Kernel 2.6.18
Direct Rendering: Yes
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce 6800 GT/AGP/SSE/3DNOW!
AMD Athlonâ„¢ XP 3000+
MemTotal: 1036128 kB

Another interesting thing to note... since visiting the refinery, my hpl.log has bloated to ~130mb! As a result, the version of the log I'm appending contains only the first and last 200 lines of the original. If you want the full log in all it's glory, I'll need access to an FTP resource (or something similar); I just don't have the bandwidth to host it myself.
05-27-2007 08:19 PM
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 20
Post: #5
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 4 Days, 7 Hours, 20 Seconds ago RE: low fps

anti-trend Wrote:I can confirm this problem. I see high/smooth FPS on everything else so far, and < 5 FPS in the refinery.

Another interesting thing to note... since visiting the refinery, my hpl.log has bloated to ~130mb! As a result, the version of the log I'm appending contains only the first and last 200 lines of the original. If you want the full log in all it's glory, I'll need access to an FTP resource (or something similar); I just don't have the bandwidth to host it myself.

How big is the hpl.log gzipped, or better bzip2'ed?? (and you did save a copy of it right?)
Also, can you send me a copy of the saved game (compressed of course).

If you need a place to upload it, PM me and I'll send you a place to upload it.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
05-27-2007 10:14 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
anti-trend
Unregistered

 
Post: #6
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 4 Days, 7 Hours, 20 Seconds ago RE: low fps

Urkle Wrote:How big is the hpl.log gzipped, or better bzip2'ed?? (and you did save a copy of it right?)
Yeah, of course I did. Smile Gzip'd, it's only 4.6mB, so it must be primarily hot air.
Urkle Wrote:Also, can you send me a copy of the saved game (compressed of course).
Log + savegame here for the next 7 days: http://anti-trend.homelinux.org/tmp/hpl.log.tar.gz
Urkle Wrote:If you need a place to upload it, PM me and I'll send you a place to upload it.
Since it compressed down to ~4.6mB down from 123.9, I can manage on my ADSL line. Smile
05-27-2007 10:31 PM
r00b Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 4 Days, 7 Hours, 20 Seconds ago RE: low fps

I was watching a speed run and noticed a difference, when I was in the Refinery there was no steam in my game. I have now played to the end with no other problems.
05-28-2007 01:51 AM
Find all posts by this user
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,095
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
Post: #8
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 4 Days, 7 Hours, 20 Seconds ago RE: [patch pending]low fps

patch out see http://frictionalgames.com/forum/showthr...p?tid=1132
05-29-2007 02:34 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)