Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
How di i load a new level?
lolopon Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Threads: 5
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
#1
How di i load a new level?

Hi!

I have a question that i guess most of you are able to answer.

When i enter a door, how do i make it load the next map?

Thanks in advance.
10-09-2011, 02:49 AM
Find
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#2
RE: How di i load a new level?

Is it a level door? If so click on the door in editor and click to the next tab (entity) and set next map and player start area from there.

(This post was last modified: 10-09-2011, 02:58 AM by Tanshaydar.)
10-09-2011, 02:50 AM
Website Find
lolopon Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Threads: 5
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
#3
RE: How di i load a new level?

ok thanks Big Grin

I guessed it was something simple, just couldn't find it myself, thanks!
10-09-2011, 02:51 AM
Find
lolopon Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Threads: 5
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
#4
RE: How di i load a new level?

Alright, now i have a new problem. When i have put the level in the right column and the start position, when i enter the door in game, it crashes and say "Unable to load script file" and "A funstion with the same name and parameters already exist". Any clues?
10-09-2011, 05:19 AM
Find
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#5
RE: How di i load a new level?

Either your hps file for your next map does not exist or you have structured it wrong.

10-09-2011, 05:21 AM
Website Find
SonOfLiberty796 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 371
Threads: 39
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 2
#6
RE: How di i load a new level?

(10-09-2011, 05:21 AM)Tanshaydar Wrote: Either your hps file for your next map does not exist or you have structured it wrong.
Yes what he said. It may be most likely because you dont have a .hps file for your next map. Every map needs to have a .hps file

Here's what a basic/new .hps should have:


////////////////////////////
// Run first time starting map
void OnStart()
{

}

////////////////////////////
// Run when entering map
void OnEnter()
{

}

////////////////////////////
// Run when leaving map
void OnLeave()
{

}
10-09-2011, 05:53 AM
Find
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
#7
RE: How di i load a new level?

(10-09-2011, 05:19 AM)lolopon Wrote: Alright, now i have a new problem. When i have put the level in the right column and the start position, when i enter the door in game, it crashes and say "Unable to load script file" and "A funstion with the same name and parameters already exist". Any clues?

You have at least two functions that start the same. For example:

void Function1()
{}

void Function1()
{}

There can only be one.

(10-09-2011, 05:53 AM)Xvideogamer720X Wrote: Every map needs to have a .hps file

Actually, you only need one if you want scripting.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
10-09-2011, 07:42 AM
Website Find
lolopon Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Threads: 5
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
#8
RE: How di i load a new level?

I have the .hps file for the next map, i'll take a look and se if i messed it up some where.

How stupid of me, i had copied a function to have a similar one, but forgot to re-write it, so i had 2 "collidescript_1". Anyways, thanks for the help! And im hoping i will start to understand this scripting better soon.
(This post was last modified: 10-09-2011, 12:05 PM by lolopon.)
10-09-2011, 11:52 AM
Find
SonOfLiberty796 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 371
Threads: 39
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 2
#9
RE: How di i load a new level?

(10-09-2011, 07:42 AM)Your Computer Wrote:
(10-09-2011, 05:53 AM)Xvideogamer720X Wrote: Every map needs to have a .hps file

Actually, you only need one if you want scripting.
Really? Huh, when I try to load a map without .hps file, it doesnt work....eh oh well :p i ALWAYS need .hps
10-10-2011, 11:22 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)