Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Is it possible to do a custom pick-up able item
risb3rg Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Threads: 3
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
#1
Is it possible to do a custom pick-up able item

Hello! I'm wondering if its possible to make your own item, for example i want to make an ornament item that already exist in game pickup-able to the inventory, it is already existing in game as a movable entity rather than a inventory item.
If it's possible, anyone care to say how?
Thankful for help

-risb3rg
(This post was last modified: 10-09-2011, 07:29 PM by risb3rg.)
10-09-2011, 07:29 PM
Find
Mehis Offline
Member

Posts: 184
Threads: 10
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 4
#2
RE: Is it possible to do a custom pick-up able item

(10-09-2011, 07:29 PM)risb3rg Wrote: Hello! I'm wondering if its possible to make your own item, for example i want to make an ornament item that already exist in game pickup-able to the inventory, it is already existing in game as a movable entity rather than a inventory item.
If it's possible, anyone care to say how?
Thankful for help

-risb3rg
Umm... I don't understand. If you mean from moveable to inventory item, it's like this.
Take the item's .ent file, copy that code inside it. Really hard to explain...
You'll have to make the picture by yourself. Remember to add alpha channel.
Just use your head. It isn't so hard.

    <UserDefinedVariables EntitySubType="Puzzle" EntityType="Item">
        <Var Name="Health" Value="100" />
        <Var Name="Toughness" Value="0" />
        <Var Name="MaxFocusDistance" Value="0" />
        <Var Name="MainPhysicsBody" Value="" />
        <Var Name="ShowMesh" Value="true" />
        <Var Name="DissolveOnDestruction" Value="false" />
        <Var Name="DissolveTime" Value="1.0" />
        <Var Name="EffectsOnSound" Value="" />
        <Var Name="EffectsOffSound" Value="" />
        <Var Name="EffectsOnTime" Value="1" />
        <Var Name="EffectsOffTime" Value="1" />
        <Var Name="EffectsOffLightColor" Value="0 0 0 0" />
        <Var Name="EffectsOffLightRadius" Value="-1" />
        <Var Name="ShowHints" Value="true" />
        <Var Name="StaticMoveCheckCollision" Value="false" />
        <Var Name="StaticMoveStartSound" Value="" />
        <Var Name="StaticMoveStopSound" Value="" />
        <Var Name="StaticMoveLoopSound" Value="" />
        <Var Name="RandomizeAnimationStart" Value="true" />
        <Var Name="SubItemTypeName" Value="NAMEHERE" />
        <Var Name="ImageFile" Value="PICTURENAMEHERE.tga" />
        <Var Name="PickSound" Value="Generic" />
        <Var Name="TempVar" Value="0" />
    </UserDefinedVariables>

(This post was last modified: 10-09-2011, 07:37 PM by Mehis.)
10-09-2011, 07:36 PM
Find
risb3rg Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Threads: 3
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
#3
RE: Is it possible to do a custom pick-up able item

Just noticed now i put it in a strange way, hard to understand. But yeah you basically got my point, going to try it out now. Will come back with results, thanks.
Where do i put the picture then?
(This post was last modified: 10-09-2011, 07:56 PM by risb3rg.)
10-09-2011, 07:38 PM
Find
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
#4
RE: Is it possible to do a custom pick-up able item

(10-09-2011, 07:38 PM)risb3rg Wrote: Where do i put the picture then?

How about in the same folder as the entity? Also, you wouldn't want to overwrite the original entity. Keep things away from the original files.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
10-09-2011, 08:07 PM
Website Find
risb3rg Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Threads: 3
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
#5
RE: Is it possible to do a custom pick-up able item

I'm not overwriting , im renaming it. (And of course keeping a copy of the original)
But i still don't understand how to do this.... :>
(This post was last modified: 10-09-2011, 08:18 PM by risb3rg.)
10-09-2011, 08:18 PM
Find
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
#6
RE: Is it possible to do a custom pick-up able item

(10-09-2011, 08:18 PM)risb3rg Wrote: But i still don't understand how to do this.... :>

Open the entity in the model editor. Then at the top pick Settings > User defined variables. For Type pick "Item." For SubType pick "Puzzle." For SubItemTypeName type something in. For ImageFile choose the image you want to represent the item in the inventory. Save. Place in your map. Save. Have fun.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
10-09-2011, 10:13 PM
Website Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)