Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 9 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
How to create a fully isolated full conversion
Author Message
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
Post: #11
RE: How to create a fully isolated full conversion

(06-04-2012 08:23 PM)plutomaniac Wrote:  What do you think I should do?

If you already have all the custom resources in their own folders, then you're one step closer to achieving full isolation. All that is required is for you to create a folder to store everything in, send everything into the folder, then modify the configuration files to point to the new locations.

It shouldn't take more than 7-15 minutes. I was able to convert Insomnia to a fully isolated FC within that time.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
(This post was last modified: 06-04-2012 08:44 PM by Your Computer.)
06-04-2012 08:43 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,369
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 182
Post: #12
RE: How to create a fully isolated full conversion

Alright thank you both, it seems to be working just fine.I'll let you know if I have any more problems.

Previously for some stuff I was doing something idiotic: I was putting everything in one folder no matter what these were. That's why I think that I will have to open the maps in level editor and set new file locations.

[Image: d81vyo.th.png]
(This post was last modified: 06-04-2012 10:23 PM by plutomaniac.)
06-04-2012 10:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,369
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 182
Post: #13
RE: How to create a fully isolated full conversion

Ok there are errors. Some stuff work and some not. I don't get it. I have added all the folder at resources but it insists loading them from the Amnesia default directories.

The LevelEditor says file index out of bounds and many things are missing because obviously it tries to load them from Amnesia.

EDIT: It seems that in-game things appear. The LevelEditor is the problem...

EDIT 2: I think everything is ok now. I copied my modified resources to Amnesia as well just for the editors. I wish that's the last thing but you'll never know.

Also, add to your guide to change the female jump voice (since we used the ptest files).

[Image: d81vyo.th.png]
(This post was last modified: 06-05-2012 12:23 AM by plutomaniac.)
06-05-2012 12:03 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
Post: #14
RE: How to create a fully isolated full conversion

(06-05-2012 12:03 AM)plutomaniac Wrote:  Also, add to your guide to change the female jump voice (since we used the ptest files).

Done.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
06-05-2012 01:32 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ermu Offline
Member

Posts: 86
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #15
RE: How to create a fully isolated full conversion

Is there a somekind of Resolution limit in the MenuLogo?
I can't get mine working...
It's in
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\amnesia the dark descent\lang\eng\graphics\main_menu"
like it should.
I've checked the Menu.cfg million times.
The photo is a .jpg
06-08-2012 09:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
MaZiCUT Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 536
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 17
Post: #16
RE: How to create a fully isolated full conversion

Might sound like a stupid question but do i create the new folder inside redist or just in my Amnesia folder where the redist itself is? Because i didn't really get what you ment.

Hi.
07-06-2012 01:40 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 950
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 43
Post: #17
RE: How to create a fully isolated full conversion

inside the redist

07-06-2012 01:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
grasmann Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
RE: How to create a fully isolated full conversion

I just tried this myself, but couldn't get it working.
However, when I downloaded your zip file and used your folder it worked.
I don't know where the files "test_mod.scpt" and "test_mod.sh" are comming from, but I guess that was the problem XD. If not I most likely missed something, well, doesn't matter right now.

Anyways ... I found something regarding the "resources.cfg". I don't know if this is commonly know by now, but it seems like the folders that are included first in the file are preferred.

Let me make this as clear as possible:

I installed the flashlight mod into the "test_mod" folder, but I still got the normal lantern in the game.
At first the model was working, but the sounds didn't, so I tested around a bit, untill both didn't work anymore XD.
Then I found the solution: I changed the folder order in the "resources.cfg" from ...

<Directory Path="/models" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/test_mod/models" AddSubDirs="true" />

... to ...

<Directory Path="/test_mod/models" AddSubDirs="true" />
<Directory Path="/models" AddSubDirs="true" />


So, what I want to say basically is:
The folders that are meant to overwrite standard files have to be included first.

Maybe I just missed it, but I think you haven't mentioned that in your tutorial. You might want to add it.
(This post was last modified: 09-01-2012 01:43 PM by grasmann.)
09-01-2012 01:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
OriginalUsername Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 896
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 34
Post: #19
RE: How to create a fully isolated full conversion

Okay, I did everything EXACTLY like you said (except naming it test_mod, I named it MG. I hope that's not the problem) And I still get an error when I try to start my game. Could I send you my file so you can check what the problem is?
02-19-2013 05:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
PutraenusAlivius Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 4,712
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 119
Post: #20
RE: How to create a fully isolated full conversion

(02-19-2013 05:10 PM)Smoke Wrote:  Okay, I did everything EXACTLY like you said (except naming it test_mod, I named it MG. I hope that's not the problem) And I still get an error when I try to start my game. Could I send you my file so you can check what the problem is?
Make sure the path is
redist/MG/
Maybe that what you did wrong?

"Veni, vidi, vici."
"I came, I saw, I conquered."
02-20-2013 10:37 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)