Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Testing New Maps in Dev Environment
RadCowify Offline

Threads: 1
Testing New Maps in Dev Environment

Hello thar! I'm new to the modding scene here and atm am running on a Mac with OS X 10.6.8.

I'm currently having trouble with launching the dev environment. So far I've made a map (basic tutorial used) and done all the necessary altering of the .cfg files, added the scripts necessary for them to launch, and placed them in the folders necessary. However, when I launch the game (in dev environment fully, no menu) I get "Error: Cannot load config file!"

Went to the log, found that (at first) it was main_settings.cfg and leveleditor.cfg. With some intense wielding of the googlemachine I fixed the main_settings.cfg file but it still won't launch as it is apparently unable to load the leveleditor.cfg file.. which I can't find anywhere on the harddrive, nor the script necessary to replace it.

I tried dumping the map files in the custom_stories folder (numerous ways) and even in standard mode wouldn't show up in the custom stories file, though it was clear that it wasn't from the obvious reasons as I checked, rechecked, checked the recheck, and slammed my face on the desk, which I thought for sure would work. So I'm assuming the reason it won't upload there is the issue with the .cfg file, though there would be no alert message as it isn't attempting to launch the file.

By now I've convinced myself that it's not any of the obvious problems that could be solved with the googlemachine wielding and fanangling with the instructed scripting of the .cfg files as I've tried everything™.

If anyone could point be in the right direction that would be excellent! If any specifics are needed don't hesitate to ask, I shall post and repost.
(This post was last modified: 11-04-2011, 04:14 AM by RadCowify.)
11-04-2011, 01:45 AM
Find