Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Scripting used to make a checkpoint?
FreshKorruption Offline
Member

Posts: 94
Threads: 27
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 1
#1
Scripting used to make a checkpoint?

I know that it is like this, but what do i fill them in with. Can i get an example?
void CheckPoint (string& asName, string& asStartPos, string& asCallback, string& asDeathHintCat, string& asDeathHintEntry);

Custom Stories

-BrastaSauce

11-26-2011, 01:59 AM
Website Find
Statyk Offline
Schrödinger's Mod

Posts: 4,390
Threads: 72
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 241
#2
RE: Scripting used to make a checkpoint?

(11-26-2011, 01:59 AM)FreshKorruption Wrote: I know that it is like this, but what do i fill them in with. Can i get an example?
void CheckPoint (string& asName, string& asStartPos, string& asCallback, string& asDeathHintCat, string& asDeathHintEntry);
**This should be in the Support section**

CheckPoint("", "SPAWNAREANAME", "", "", "");

Lol It can be that naked. To fill in:

CheckPoint("Checkpointname", "SPAWNAREANAME", "", "DeathHintCategory", "DeathHintEntry");


(This post was last modified: 11-26-2011, 02:04 AM by Statyk.)
11-26-2011, 02:02 AM
Find
FreshKorruption Offline
Member

Posts: 94
Threads: 27
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 1
#3
RE: Scripting used to make a checkpoint?

(11-26-2011, 02:02 AM)Statyk Wrote:
(11-26-2011, 01:59 AM)FreshKorruption Wrote: I know that it is like this, but what do i fill them in with. Can i get an example?
void CheckPoint (string& asName, string& asStartPos, string& asCallback, string& asDeathHintCat, string& asDeathHintEntry);
**This should be in the Support section**

CheckPoint("", "SPAWNAREANAME", "", "", "");

Lol It can be that naked. To fill in:

CheckPoint("Checkpointname", "SPAWNAREANAME", "", "DeathHintCategory", "DeathHintEntry");
What i'm confused about is how there is the usual void onstart and you put stuff in there (like a nickname and stuff) and than you have void (nickname). What do you put in each individual one? Hope you understood that.


Custom Stories

-BrastaSauce

(This post was last modified: 11-26-2011, 02:21 AM by FreshKorruption.)
11-26-2011, 02:20 AM
Website Find
Linus Ågren Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 309
Threads: 58
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 5
#4
RE: Scripting used to make a checkpoint?

I put it in a collidebox or event at a place where it's possible for a player to die, so that you will respawn on the checkpoint after death.

Creator of The Dark Treasure.
11-26-2011, 02:27 AM
Website Find
flamez3 Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,281
Threads: 48
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 57
#5
RE: Scripting used to make a checkpoint?

You put this in the void Onstart
CheckPoint (string& asName, string& asStartPos, string& asCallback, string& asDeathHintCat, string& asDeathHintEntry);
And you do this for the callback
void MyFunc(string &in asName, int alCount)


11-26-2011, 03:33 AM
Find
FreshKorruption Offline
Member

Posts: 94
Threads: 27
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 1
#6
RE: Scripting used to make a checkpoint?

(11-26-2011, 03:33 AM)flamez3 Wrote: You put this in the void Onstart
CheckPoint (string& asName, string& asStartPos, string& asCallback, string& asDeathHintCat, string& asDeathHintEntry);
And you do this for the callback
void MyFunc(string &in asName, int alCount)
Thanks. Im still a lil rusty though =/ So what would i put in thhe int alCount and string &in asName?


Custom Stories

-BrastaSauce

11-26-2011, 05:00 AM
Website Find
Statyk Offline
Schrödinger's Mod

Posts: 4,390
Threads: 72
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 241
#7
RE: Scripting used to make a checkpoint?

(11-26-2011, 05:00 AM)FreshKorruption Wrote: Thanks. Im still a lil rusty though =/ So what would i put in thhe int alCount and string &in asName?
Lol definitely a little rusty... =P You don't put anything there. here's an example:

//_________________
void OnStart();
{
CheckPoint("", "SPAWNAREANAME", "CALLBACKFUNC", "", "");
}

void CALLBACKFUNC(string &in asName, int alCount)
{
//your scripts here. =P
}
11-26-2011, 05:26 AM
Find
FreshKorruption Offline
Member

Posts: 94
Threads: 27
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 1
#8
RE: Scripting used to make a checkpoint?

(11-26-2011, 05:26 AM)Statyk Wrote:
(11-26-2011, 05:00 AM)FreshKorruption Wrote: Thanks. Im still a lil rusty though =/ So what would i put in thhe int alCount and string &in asName?
Lol definitely a little rusty... =P You don't put anything there. here's an example:

//_________________
void OnStart();
{
CheckPoint("", "SPAWNAREANAME", "CALLBACKFUNC", "", "");
}

void CALLBACKFUNC(string &in asName, int alCount)
{
//your scripts here. =P
}
Thanks. Gave you some reputation for helping =D

Custom Stories

-BrastaSauce

12-01-2011, 11:16 PM
Website Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)