Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Request Model
Author Message
FlaW Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 48
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Model

Hi all. I want to finish the model of Hermoor's Models, tell me how to convert from a dae to ent, forfurther work in the model editor. thank for the previously .

P.s Sorry for my bad English Big Grin
(This post was last modified: 01-07-2012 05:00 PM by FlaW.)
01-04-2012 11:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 950
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 43
Post: #2
RE: .dae to .ent

A .ent is created in the model editor. You import your dae and give it a material then save it as ent Smile If you need more help then just reply to me Smile

01-04-2012 11:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
FlaW Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 48
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: .dae to .ent

You can detail how to do it, because this is my first experience in the model editor
(This post was last modified: 01-04-2012 11:43 PM by FlaW.)
01-04-2012 11:43 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 950
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 43
Post: #4
RE: .dae to .ent

(01-04-2012 11:43 PM)FlaW Wrote:  You can detail how to do it, because this is my first experience in the model editor
Ok so place your dae and dds file in a map somewhere inside your amnesia map so you can find it.

So first start the model editor (obviously) then click file and import mesh then find your dae file and then when that is imported, select it and on the right press the + sign where it says material and then when the material editor is open.

Press on on the box where it says Type: decal and choose solid diffuse.

Then where it says texture Units check the diffuse box and on file press the ... box and choose your DDS file and save it in the same folder as your dae and dds and name it the same.

then press the ... on material on the right and choose your .mat file you just created.

Then if the model looks textured and done then save it as the same name as the others. Smile


Are you making a enemy, entity or static_object?

(This post was last modified: 01-04-2012 11:59 PM by SilentStriker.)
01-04-2012 11:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
FlaW Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 48
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: .dae to .ent

The enemy. Thanks, I put stuff in 3DS Max Big Grin . if succeed, will lay out here, either by itself or with my custom story.
01-05-2012 12:09 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 950
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 43
Post: #6
RE: .dae to .ent

(01-05-2012 12:09 AM)FlaW Wrote:  The enemy. Thanks, I put stuff in 3DS Max Big Grin . if succeed, will lay out here, either by itself or with my custom story.
If your making an enemy you need to change some variables inside the model editor Smile

and add it's animation and stuff x)

01-05-2012 12:11 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
FlaW Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 48
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: .dae to .ent

animations and sounds I can find. for some reason when I import the model into a model editor, a model is not displayed. Do you know why?
01-05-2012 12:32 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 950
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 43
Post: #8
RE: .dae to .ent

(01-05-2012 12:32 AM)FlaW Wrote:  animations and sounds I can find. for some reason when I import the model into a model editor, a model is not displayed. Do you know why?
You need to give it a material. Smile I explained that in the "Tutorial" Wink

01-05-2012 12:33 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
FlaW Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 48
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: .dae to .ent

turned out. Skeleton I think should be done in the model editor, because I did in 3DS Max, the import fails.
01-05-2012 12:58 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 950
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 43
Post: #10
RE: .dae to .ent

No the skeleton is made in the model program. I would suggest maya for 3d modelling but 3ds max is fine. But I don't know how well skeletons work in 3ds max...

01-05-2012 01:01 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)