Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
How do i make notes?
Author Message
Datguy5 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 621
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 12
Post: #1
How do i make notes?

How do you make notes that the player can pick up and then read them?I dont have anything in my extra_english.lang file.
(This post was last modified: 01-05-2012 08:02 PM by Datguy5.)
01-05-2012 04:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Khyrpa Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 638
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 24
Post: #2
RE: How do i make notes?

(01-05-2012 04:01 PM)Datguy5 Wrote:  dont have anything in my extra_english.lang file.
that might be the problem
http://wiki.frictionalgames.com/hpl2/tutorials/start

use search

01-05-2012 04:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Datguy5 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 621
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 12
Post: #3
RE: How do i make notes?

(01-05-2012 04:19 PM)Khyrpa Wrote:  
(01-05-2012 04:01 PM)Datguy5 Wrote:  dont have anything in my extra_english.lang file.
that might be the problem
http://wiki.frictionalgames.com/hpl2/tutorials/start

use search
Big Grin What should i do?
(This post was last modified: 01-05-2012 05:11 PM by Datguy5.)
01-05-2012 05:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
flamez3 Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,285
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 57
Post: #4
RE: How do i make notes?

Look for yourself, I'll give you a tip:

http://wiki.frictionalgames.com/hpl2/tut...omakenotes

01-05-2012 05:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Datguy5 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 621
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 12
Post: #5
RE: How do i make notes?

(01-05-2012 05:16 PM)flamez3 Wrote:  Look for yourself, I'll give you a tip:

http://wiki.frictionalgames.com/hpl2/tut...omakenotes

ok Big Grin

When i take the note,theres nothing there.Heres the lang file:
<LANGUAGE>
<CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
<Entry Name="Description">This is a test map and also my first.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
<CATEGORY Name="Journal1">
<Entry Name="Note_Test01_Name">Hint</Entry>
<Entry Name="Note_Test01_Text">There is an key in the chest.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>
(This post was last modified: 01-05-2012 05:51 PM by Datguy5.)
01-05-2012 05:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
eagledude4 Offline
Member

Posts: 144
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: How do i make notes?

(01-05-2012 05:29 PM)Datguy5 Wrote:  
(01-05-2012 05:16 PM)flamez3 Wrote:  Look for yourself, I'll give you a tip:

http://wiki.frictionalgames.com/hpl2/tut...omakenotes

ok Big Grin

When i take the note,theres nothing there.Heres the lang file:
<LANGUAGE>
<CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
<Entry Name="Description">This is a test map and also my first.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
<CATEGORY Name="Journal1">
<Entry Name="Note_Test01_Name">Hint</Entry>
<Entry Name="Note_Test01_Text">There is an key in the chest.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>

I think the category name has to be "Journal", not "Journal1"

Its hard to see the truth when you've been blinded by lies.
(This post was last modified: 01-05-2012 06:25 PM by eagledude4.)
01-05-2012 06:25 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Datguy5 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 621
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 12
Post: #7
RE: How do i make notes?

(01-05-2012 06:25 PM)eagledude4 Wrote:  
(01-05-2012 05:29 PM)Datguy5 Wrote:  
(01-05-2012 05:16 PM)flamez3 Wrote:  Look for yourself, I'll give you a tip:

http://wiki.frictionalgames.com/hpl2/tut...omakenotes

ok Big Grin

When i take the note,theres nothing there.Heres the lang file:
<LANGUAGE>
<CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
<Entry Name="Description">This is a test map and also my first.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
<CATEGORY Name="Journal1">
<Entry Name="Note_Test01_Name">Hint</Entry>
<Entry Name="Note_Test01_Text">There is an key in the chest.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>

I think the category name has to be "Journal", not "Journal1"
Oh lol i didnt even see that XD



Yes it works now!Thank you all for the help Smile
(This post was last modified: 01-05-2012 07:00 PM by Datguy5.)
01-05-2012 06:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)