Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
AtDD Rapture Community Models
Author Message
Rapture Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 951
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 26
Post: #11
RE: AtDD Rapture Community Models

How could you open up a .dae back into Blender? I accidently saved a tree model over a old one, and I'm going back and reducing the file sizes of the .dds
I had released my Dead Tree 1 before I accidently saved it over. So thats why I need to re-open it or that work will be lost. :[
01-10-2012 04:41 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Sel Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 278
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 3
Post: #12
RE: AtDD Rapture Community Models

If you can export DAE files it stands to reason you can import DAE files?
01-10-2012 05:04 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,474
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 234
Post: #13
RE: AtDD Rapture Community Models

(01-10-2012 04:41 AM)Rapture Wrote:  How could you open up a .dae back into Blender? I accidently saved a tree model over a old one, and I'm going back and reducing the file sizes of the .dds
I had released my Dead Tree 1 before I accidently saved it over. So thats why I need to re-open it or that work will be lost. :[

File > Import > COLLADA (.dae).

BTW, you should consider using the Sapling Blender plug-in for creating eerie and spooky trees. It's what i've been using for my full conversion.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
(This post was last modified: 01-10-2012 06:20 AM by Your Computer.)
01-10-2012 06:17 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rapture Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 951
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 26
Post: #14
RE: AtDD Rapture Community Models

(01-10-2012 05:04 AM)Sel Wrote:  If you can export DAE files it stands to reason you can import DAE files?

Me >= Stupid

Thanks, I forgot about that import option. >:

One more question, when I save the .dds, theirs a compression option. If I don't do compression I can sometimes get a whopping 5-16mb .dds file.

I wasn't sure which one I could use, but I read from the Skyrim Modding community that they save their image formats at BC1 / DXT1 to get a low file size (Mine went down to a nice 400-950 kb). So I tried that to, but my models (Blender is fine) in the ModelView/Editor won't show their texture. Am I doing something wrong or which compression should I choose to get the lowest filesize possible, but still let the texture show up?
01-10-2012 02:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,474
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 234
Post: #15
RE: AtDD Rapture Community Models

The game supports all available DDS compressions. Make sure the .dae points to the right DDS file and make sure there's a .mat file that references the DDS file with the same name as the DDS file.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
01-10-2012 03:31 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mine Turtle Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 656
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 29
Post: #16
RE: AtDD Rapture Community Models

looking forward to part 2 of the models! ^^

[Image: 201107142327000.gif]
01-11-2012 02:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)