Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Import/use weapons
Ravenskull Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Threads: 5
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
#1
Wink  Import/use weapons

Is there any way to import,create or use weapons in a custom story to fight against monsters? Im not good with scripting and so on but I can imagine that you can change life values for monsters and add a script which gives demage to s.th.

I need your advice, because i´m creating a new mod in which I want to use a heavy sandal-wood-revolver with massive bullets to fight against monsters. Big Grin
(This post was last modified: 01-17-2012, 05:02 PM by Ravenskull.)
01-17-2012, 05:02 PM
Find
BlueFury Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 470
Threads: 30
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 9
#2
RE: Import/use weapons

You may script something so good that it creates entities flying towards your target. And no, it's not possible. This game is for Amnesia gameplay though, make a Source mod if you want guns.

Sticks and stones may break our bones, but words will break our hearts. – Robert Fulghum
01-17-2012, 05:18 PM
Find
flamez3 Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,281
Threads: 48
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 57
#3
RE: Import/use weapons

You could make it swords and use AddEntityCollideCallback, and SetPropHealth(0.0f); ?

01-17-2012, 05:31 PM
Find
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 950
Threads: 26
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 43
#4
RE: Import/use weapons

(01-17-2012, 05:18 PM)BlueFury Wrote: You may script something so good that it creates entities flying towards your target. And no, it's not possible. This game is for Amnesia gameplay though, make a Source mod if you want guns.
It's actually possible to "kill" a enemy, YourComputer have made a script that made him able to "kill" the grunt.
He used a sword model and then he picked it up as a entity (not a item) and then he started swinging and the grunt died (turn up in smoke)


(This post was last modified: 01-17-2012, 06:07 PM by SilentStriker.)
01-17-2012, 06:06 PM
Find
flamez3 Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,281
Threads: 48
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 57
#5
RE: Import/use weapons

(01-17-2012, 06:06 PM)SilentStriker Wrote:
(01-17-2012, 05:18 PM)BlueFury Wrote: You may script something so good that it creates entities flying towards your target. And no, it's not possible. This game is for Amnesia gameplay though, make a Source mod if you want guns.
It's actually possible to "kill" a enemy, YourComputer have made a script that made him able to "kill" the grunt.
He used a sword model and then he picked it up as a entity (not a item) and then he started swinging and the grunt died (turn up in smoke)
void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Sword", "Grunt", "MonsterDie", true, 1);
}

void MonsterDie(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int alState)
{
SetPropHealth(0.0f);
}

As I said before, that is the only way you can really do it.

01-17-2012, 06:10 PM
Find
BlueFury Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 470
Threads: 30
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 9
#6
RE: Import/use weapons

Combine the two, make a nice script. Then message me and i'll make you a free gun model.
I'm serious.

Sticks and stones may break our bones, but words will break our hearts. – Robert Fulghum
(This post was last modified: 01-17-2012, 06:45 PM by BlueFury.)
01-17-2012, 06:44 PM
Find
Tripication Offline
Member

Posts: 172
Threads: 19
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 6
#7
RE: Import/use weapons

fuck just go play cod

[Image: speedart__2___yoshimitsu_by_kamofudge-d4yo6kk.png]
01-18-2012, 03:42 AM
Find
Statyk Offline
Schrödinger's Mod

Posts: 4,390
Threads: 72
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 241
#8
RE: Import/use weapons

(01-18-2012, 03:42 AM)Tripication Wrote: fuck just go play cod
Seriously... I appreciate the test to make a "shooter" in Amnesia/HPL2 engine. But the whole reason Amnesia is what it is, is that there were no weapons >>

Please, don't let me stop you, I just don't see why you don't make a Source mod.
01-18-2012, 03:45 AM
Find
Shadowfied Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 261
Threads: 34
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 5
#9
RE: Import/use weapons

While I love the fact that Amnesia has no weapons, I still think it would be cool to make in a custom story.

Frictional Games was first going to make this a more action-oriented game, which turned out totally opposite though. There are even settings for the grunt like "HitPS_Sword" which says when you hover your mouse over it "Sound when hit by sword" and there are options for bullets too.

Seeing how Apjjm was able to make Tetris in this engine, I definitely think it's POSSIBLE (not at all saying it's easy) to do.

Current - Castle Darkuan
Other - F*cked Map
01-18-2012, 08:30 AM
Find
Kman Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 4,187
Threads: 25
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 219
#10
RE: Import/use weapons

It's most definitely possible, but it would take an intense ammount of work. You'd have to make the model, then you'd have to make animations for it, then you have to edit all of the premade Amnesia models so they'll be effected by it when hit, then you would have to script everything to work right, etc. The point is with how much work it would take it might not be the most practical thing, but if you want to go ahead and make a weapon, go for it Smile

Posting Freak
01-18-2012, 11:20 AM
Website Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)