Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
How to make a hint?
TheDanny942 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 20
Threads: 7
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
#1
How to make a hint?

In one part of my custom story, you hear monster, noises, and a monster comes out. I want to make a message go on screen that says something like, "Quick! Find a place to hide!" So I know there is a script function "Give Hint." My real question is how to configure the .lang file for this, I'm assuming the entry goes under journal? Any help is appreciated. Smile
01-30-2012, 05:56 AM
Find
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
#2
RE: How to make a hint?

You can specify the category through the GiveHint function.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
01-30-2012, 07:12 AM
Website Find
Shadowfied Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 261
Threads: 34
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 5
#3
RE: How to make a hint?

If you just want a normal message appearing the simplest way would be to use SetMessage.

SetMessage("LangCategoryHere", "LangEntryHere", 0);

LangCategory = Category name in the extra_english.lang file
LangEntry = Entry name in that same category
0 = Time to display. If you put 0 the game will decide automatically how long it will stay on screen depending on how long the message is, which is really awesome.

I use SetMessage for any messages and it's very quick and easy.

Current - Castle Darkuan
Other - F*cked Map
01-30-2012, 08:41 AM
Find
TheDanny942 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 20
Threads: 7
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
#4
RE: How to make a hint?

Ok guys does this look ok?
.lang file
<CATEGORY Name="Messsage">
<Entry Name="Message_Run_Message">Do not attempt to fight, hide.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
.hps file
GiveHint ("Run", "Message", "Run", 8);
01-31-2012, 02:47 AM
Find
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
#5
RE: How to make a hint?

(01-31-2012, 02:47 AM)TheDanny942 Wrote: Ok guys does this look ok?

There is no prefix and suffix for GiveHint entries.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
01-31-2012, 03:01 AM
Website Find
TheDanny942 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 20
Threads: 7
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
#6
RE: How to make a hint?

(01-31-2012, 03:01 AM)Your Computer Wrote:
(01-31-2012, 02:47 AM)TheDanny942 Wrote: Ok guys does this look ok?

There is no prefix and suffix for GiveHint entries.
Sorry for my noobieness but what do you mean? I mean I know what prefixes and suffixes are, but do you mean like you cannot have them or what? I'm a bit confused sorry.



(This post was last modified: 01-31-2012, 03:15 AM by TheDanny942.)
01-31-2012, 03:07 AM
Find
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
#7
RE: How to make a hint?

(01-31-2012, 03:07 AM)TheDanny942 Wrote: Sorry for my noobieness but what do you mean? I mean I know what prefixes and suffixes are, but do you mean like you cannot have them or what? I'm a bit confused sorry.

I mean, GiveHint("Run", "Message", "Run", 8) implies

<CATEGORY Name="Message">
<Entry Name="Run">Do not attempt to fight, hide.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
(This post was last modified: 01-31-2012, 03:47 AM by Your Computer.)
01-31-2012, 03:45 AM
Website Find
TheDanny942 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 20
Threads: 7
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
#8
RE: How to make a hint?

(01-31-2012, 03:45 AM)Your Computer Wrote:
(01-31-2012, 03:07 AM)TheDanny942 Wrote: Sorry for my noobieness but what do you mean? I mean I know what prefixes and suffixes are, but do you mean like you cannot have them or what? I'm a bit confused sorry.

I mean, GiveHint("Run", "Message", "Run", 8) implies

<CATEGORY Name="Message">
<Entry Name="Run">Do not attempt to fight, hide.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
Oh I see! Thanks alot man Smile

01-31-2012, 03:49 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)