Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
.Lang File Help When Key Picked Up It Says Picked Up
heyitsrobert97 Offline
Member

Posts: 68
Threads: 29
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
#1
When Key Picked Up It Says Picked Up

I Have Done a Key Script for a door but when i pick up the key it just says 'picked up' and in the description it doesn't say anything can someone please tell me what i am doing wrong In Level Editor the Key is called 'hallkey' and the door 'halldoor' and in the entity tab on the key i put customsubitemname to 'hall_key' so could u help?
LANG
<LANGUAGE>
<CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
<Entry Name="Description">
You are Inside This strange House that you entered after hearing screams from inside </Entry>
</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
</CATEGORY Name="Inventory">
<Entry Name="ItemName_hall_key">Hall Key</Entry>
<Entry Name="ItemDesc_hall_key"> Key Labeled "Hall Key"</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>
and the script works but here it is for anyone who wants a working one.

{
AddUseItemCallback("", "hallkey", "halldoor", "hallkeydoor", true);
}

void hallkeydoor(string &in asItem, string &in asEntity)
{
SetSwingDoorLocked("halldoor", false, true);
PlaySoundAtEntity("", "unlock_door.snt", "halldoor", 0, false);
RemoveItem("hallkey");
PlaySoundAtEntity("", "react_sigh.snt", "Player", 0, false);
}


This Darn House! , Four Doors, Youtube
02-03-2012, 05:20 AM
Find
Obliviator27 Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 792
Threads: 10
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 66
#2
RE: When Key Picked Up It Says Picked Up

You have </CATEGORY Name="Inventory">
Remove the /.

02-03-2012, 05:28 AM
Find
heyitsrobert97 Offline
Member

Posts: 68
Threads: 29
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
#3
RE: When Key Picked Up It Says Picked Up

(02-03-2012, 05:28 AM)Obliviator27 Wrote: You have </CATEGORY Name="Inventory">
Remove the /.
It Is Still The same

This Darn House! , Four Doors, Youtube
02-03-2012, 05:36 AM
Find
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
#4
RE: When Key Picked Up It Says Picked Up

Remove the second </Entry> for the Description entry.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
02-03-2012, 06:09 AM
Website Find
Obliviator27 Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 792
Threads: 10
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 66
#5
RE: When Key Picked Up It Says Picked Up

^ Missed that.

02-03-2012, 06:23 AM
Find
heyitsrobert97 Offline
Member

Posts: 68
Threads: 29
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
#6
RE: When Key Picked Up It Says Picked Up

(02-03-2012, 06:23 AM)Obliviator27 Wrote: ^ Missed that.
Thanks So MuchBig Grin i was wondering why there was no description either. +rep for you Tongue

and for Your Computer

This Darn House! , Four Doors, Youtube
(This post was last modified: 02-03-2012, 06:28 AM by heyitsrobert97.)
02-03-2012, 06:26 AM
Find
GrAVit Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 580
Threads: 15
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 22
#7
RE: When Key Picked Up It Says Picked Up

Yeah, the whole .lang file just fails if there's even one single typo in the important part of the code or anything like that. Kinda sucks.

(This post was last modified: 02-03-2012, 10:43 PM by GrAVit.)
02-03-2012, 10:42 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)