Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Can someone tell me why my iron maidens door doesn't open?
LulleBulle Offline
Member

Posts: 101
Threads: 33
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
#1
Can someone tell me why my iron maidens door doesn't open?

I'm trying to make the famous scary iron maiden effect in my custom story (don't say it's old, just trying to freak my friends out) and for some reason the doors wont open. I get the look effect of iron maiden but no doors or smoke :/

.map file: http://www.mediafire.com/?oi5q1kqobkbx55p
.hps file: http://www.mediafire.com/?zriu7z8qi6xgmmr

If anyone had time to look at this it would be much appreciated Smile
02-24-2012, 11:55 PM
Find
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 950
Threads: 26
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 43
#2
RE: Can someone tell me why my iron maidens door doesn't open?

To make smoke you need to use particles and for the doors you need prop impulse


02-25-2012, 11:58 AM
Find
Shives Offline
Member

Posts: 154
Threads: 41
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 1
#3
RE: Can someone tell me why my iron maidens door doesn't open?

It should be

AddBodyForce("iron_maiden_2_leftDoor", -0.7, 0, -0.7, "world");
AddBodyForce("iron_maiden_2_rightDoor", -0.7, 0, 0.7, "world");

My Custom Story
http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-12587.html

Sorry for bad English


02-25-2012, 12:35 PM
Find
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 950
Threads: 26
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 43
#4
RE: Can someone tell me why my iron maidens door doesn't open?

Nope

AddBodyImpulse("iron_maiden_2_leftDoor", -0.7, 0, -0.7, "world");
AddBodyImpulse("iron_maiden_2_rightDoor", -0.7, 0, 0.7, "world");


(This post was last modified: 02-25-2012, 12:58 PM by SilentStriker.)
02-25-2012, 12:58 PM
Find
LulleBulle Offline
Member

Posts: 101
Threads: 33
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
#5
RE: Can someone tell me why my iron maidens door doesn't open?

(02-25-2012, 12:58 PM)SilentStriker Wrote: Nope

AddBodyImpulse("iron_maiden_2_leftDoor", -0.7, 0, -0.7, "world");
AddBodyImpulse("iron_maiden_2_rightDoor", -0.7, 0, 0.7, "world");
That's already in my script so why won't the doors open?
02-25-2012, 01:46 PM
Find
Shives Offline
Member

Posts: 154
Threads: 41
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 1
#6
RE: Can someone tell me why my iron maidens door doesn't open?

Maybe works this

AddBodyImpulse("iron_maiden_2_leftDoor", -900, 0, -900, "world");

AddBodyImpulse("iron_maiden_2_rightDoor", -900, 0,900, "world");


My Custom Story
http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-12587.html

Sorry for bad English


02-25-2012, 02:01 PM
Find
LulleBulle Offline
Member

Posts: 101
Threads: 33
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
#7
RE: Can someone tell me why my iron maidens door doesn't open?

(02-25-2012, 02:01 PM)Shives Wrote: Maybe works this

AddBodyImpulse("iron_maiden_2_leftDoor", -900, 0, -900, "world");

AddBodyImpulse("iron_maiden_2_rightDoor", -900, 0,900, "world");
Thank you, worked prefect. Never thought that I should add more power, since it didn't move at all I thought something else was wrong..
02-25-2012, 02:26 PM
Find
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 950
Threads: 26
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 43
#8
RE: Can someone tell me why my iron maidens door doesn't open?

The thing is Impulse don't need more power you just need to change the way the power is used, like if the doors are looking towards the x axis it's 7 on one of the impulse but if it looks the other way of the x axis it's -7 etc

02-25-2012, 03:07 PM
Find
LulleBulle Offline
Member

Posts: 101
Threads: 33
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
#9
RE: Can someone tell me why my iron maidens door doesn't open?

(02-25-2012, 03:07 PM)SilentStriker Wrote: The thing is Impulse don't need more power you just need to change the way the power is used, like if the doors are looking towards the x axis it's 7 on one of the impulse but if it looks the other way of the x axis it's -7 etc
Might be that it's pushing towards the wrong axis as you said but i really can't be bothered to change it, moving on to other stuff.
02-25-2012, 04:31 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)