Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Creating a Random variable
bagmanpt Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Threads: 4
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
#1
Creating a Random variable

hi guys, im new in the forums.

im trying to figure out how to create a random variable, but honestly i havent got much time to script anything yet, im creating a CS with new models and textures, and its driving me crazy all time, i did not wasted any time yet with programming.
so if you guys could help i'll appreciate.

thank you in advance
03-31-2012, 08:54 AM
Find
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 950
Threads: 26
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 43
#2
RE: Creating a Random variable

Is it RandFloat or RandInt your looking for?

could you explain it a bit more?


03-31-2012, 10:15 AM
Find
Linus Ågren Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 309
Threads: 58
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 5
#3
RE: Creating a Random variable

I made a random push on rocks when a corridor caves in so they won't go in the same path all the time. I did this:

PHP Code: (Select All)
float spX RandFloat(3.0f6.0f);
float spY RandFloat(2.0f5.0f);
float spZ RandFloat(3.0f5.0f);


AddPropImpulse("dungeon_small01_5"spXspYspZ"");
AddPropImpulse("dungeon_small01_6"spXspYspZ"");
AddPropImpulse("stone_small01_brown_2"spXspYspZ"");
AddPropImpulse("stone_small01_brown_3"spXspYspZ""); 

If this is not what you're looking for, be more specific please. (:

Creator of The Dark Treasure.
03-31-2012, 11:11 AM
Website Find
bagmanpt Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Threads: 4
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
#4
RE: Creating a Random variable

(03-31-2012, 11:11 AM)junkfood2121 Wrote: I made a random push on rocks when a corridor caves in so they won't go in the same path all the time. I did this:

PHP Code: (Select All)
float spX RandFloat(3.0f6.0f);
float spY RandFloat(2.0f5.0f);
float spZ RandFloat(3.0f5.0f);


AddPropImpulse("dungeon_small01_5"spXspYspZ"");
AddPropImpulse("dungeon_small01_6"spXspYspZ"");
AddPropImpulse("stone_small01_brown_2"spXspYspZ"");
AddPropImpulse("stone_small01_brown_3"spXspYspZ""); 

If this is not what you're looking for, be more specific please. (:
thank you,
its that i am looking for, its for integer but i will manage to do what i want Smile
i just need to know this line "float spZ = RandFloat(3.0f, 5.0f);" which later i'll translate to "int X = RandInt(1, 5);"

thank you very much both of you
03-31-2012, 11:14 AM
Find
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 950
Threads: 26
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 43
#5
RE: Creating a Random variable

Your welcome Smile

03-31-2012, 11:22 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)