Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 4.5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Simulating changes in gravity
Author Message
Damascus Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 646
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 29
Post: #11
RE: Simulating changes in gravity

Alright, here you go! sorry it's so laggy.




(This post was last modified: 04-06-2012 04:34 AM by Damascus.)
04-06-2012 04:34 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Adrianis Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 620
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 27
Post: #12
RE: Simulating changes in gravity

Good effort dude but as you say, laggy. You kinda can't see the effect sadly, though you can tell things don't go down when normally they would. Is it the stress on your gfx card doing that? Can you try making it super low-res?
04-08-2012 10:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Damascus Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 646
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 29
Post: #13
RE: Simulating changes in gravity

Yeah, it comes from running my game and recording equipment at the same time. I'll try again with severely reduced graphics.

04-08-2012 11:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
DRedshot Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 374
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 11
Post: #14
RE: Simulating changes in gravity

(04-08-2012 11:09 PM)Damascus Wrote:  Yeah, it comes from running my game and recording equipment at the same time. I'll try again with severely reduced graphics.
Is there any way you could reduce the loop timer to say 0.1-0.2 seconds. I dont blame yuor computer for lagging when it's running a load of looping timers (One for each floating box?), each running at 66 cycles per second Tongue
Doing this should improve your framerate drastically, and could make it more useable in custom stories.

Edit: nvm, you'll only be using one timer. Ignore what I said. Smile

(This post was last modified: 04-15-2012 03:07 PM by DRedshot.)
04-15-2012 03:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Adrianis Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 620
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 27
Post: #15
RE: Simulating changes in gravity

(04-15-2012 03:00 PM)DRedshot Wrote:  
(04-08-2012 11:09 PM)Damascus Wrote:  Yeah, it comes from running my game and recording equipment at the same time. I'll try again with severely reduced graphics.
Is there any way you could reduce the loop timer to say 0.1-0.2 seconds. I dont blame yuor computer for lagging when it's running a load of looping timers (One for each floating box?), each running at 66 cycles per second Tongue
Doing this should improve your framerate drastically, and could make it more useable in custom stories.

Edit: nvm, you'll only be using one timer. Ignore what I said. Smile
hehe yes just one timer, and it needs to be happening very quickly or else the object will appear to be 'bouncing' ingame. The short loop time means you don't notice
04-15-2012 05:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Damascus Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 646
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 29
Post: #16
RE: Simulating changes in gravity

Try as I might, i can't get a video that isn't immensely laggy. Sorry, maybe someone else will have better luck. Tongue

04-16-2012 06:37 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Damascus Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 646
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 29
Post: #17
RE: Simulating changes in gravity

Would anyone else be willing to record a video of this if I were to send them the map and script?

05-11-2012 07:26 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Adrianis Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 620
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 27
Post: #18
RE: Simulating changes in gravity

(04-05-2012 09:35 PM)Homicide13 Wrote:  After experimenting around with this a bit I have found one problem: air friction. Although an object might ignore gravity, it still slows down due to air friction. Does anybody know where the config files are for air friction controls (assuming there are any?)
If you or, anyone else is still interested, in the model editor you just need to reduce the Angular / Linear Damping property on the body of the entity to 0
05-21-2012 12:21 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
FragdaddyXXL Offline
Member

Posts: 136
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 7
Post: #19
RE: Simulating changes in gravity

AH! you beat me to it. I was planning on doing the same exact thing before taking this hiatus. Cool seeing it works!

Dark Seclusion Here
06-24-2012 09:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)