Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
New Guy...
Author Message
xdark68soul Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
New Guy...

Hey everyone! I'm new in this, so I have a lot of doubts... and I'm sorry If it were here before uwu~ Also, I'm sorry for my english... I'm Chilean, so my native language is spanish D:

The thing is I'm making a custom story for a chilean gamer called Xoda. I hope you can help me...

1. Can anybody help me doing a new model of this character?
[Image: fatalframe6.jpg]

2. Do you know how to edit the final credits? u know, the typical credits when the story ends...
3. I wanna put an image when the player changes the level, how can I do that?

Thanks u Big Grin
05-12-2012 08:58 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 950
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 43
Post: #2
RE: New Guy...

Welcome to the forum! Smile

1. Can't help you with that but some modeller might Smile

2. Use
StartCredits(string& asMusic, bool abLoopMusic, string& asTextCat, string& asTextEntry, int alEndNum);

http://wiki.frictionalgames.com/hpl2/amn..._functions

3. I can't remember if you're able to change the images if it's a CS I know that a FC can but I can't remember if a CS can do that

05-12-2012 09:12 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Datguy5 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 623
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 12
Post: #3
RE: New Guy...

3.If you mean loadingscreens then its possible without fullconversion.My custom story Dark Past(WIP)has loadingscreens and it wont be a FC.Use this: SetupLoadScreen(string&asTextCat, string&asTextEntry, int alRandomNum, string&asImageFile);

Determines which loading screen will be shown when changing maps.
asTextCat - the category of the loading text in the .lang file to be
shown on the loading screen
asTextEntry - the entry in the .lang
file
alRandomNum - if greater 1, then it will randomize between 1
and alRandom for each LoadScreen giving entry the suffix XX (eg 01). If < =1
then no suffix is added
asImageFile - the image to be shown
(optional)

05-12-2012 09:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
xdark68soul Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: New Guy...

Thanks you Big Grin Oh, I mean... when I'm on level 1, then I'm go to level 2... and there's a charging screen. I don't know if "Lost the lights" is a CS or a FC, but when the player changes the level... there's an image like this...

[Image: 2dc82394a5252e2b553832d23a76965f.jpg]

Whatever, what is the difference between a FC and a CS? D: Editing a full conversion is harder than editing a custom story? Thanks you again Big Grin

EDIT: Thanks you Datguy5 >w< that's is exactly what I wanted Big Grin
(This post was last modified: 05-12-2012 09:23 PM by xdark68soul.)
05-12-2012 09:20 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mine Turtle Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 656
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 29
Post: #5
RE: New Guy...

(05-12-2012 09:20 PM)xdark68soul Wrote:  Thanks you Big Grin Oh, I mean... when I'm on level 1, then I'm go to level 2... and there's a charging screen. I don't know if "Lost the lights" is a CS or a FC, but when the player changes the level... there's an image like this...

[Image: 2dc82394a5252e2b553832d23a76965f.jpg]

Whatever, what is the difference between a FC and a CS? D: Editing a full conversion is harder than editing a custom story? Thanks you again Big Grin

EDIT: Thanks you Datguy5 >w< that's is exactly what I wanted Big Grin


a FC changes the feats of the game. lanterntype, sanity, health, jump etcetcetcetc. it also allows you to make a start menu for your story. lots of other things are also avalible for doing when making a FC, but i wont post it seeing as it would be a TL DR situation.

[Image: 201107142327000.gif]
(This post was last modified: 05-12-2012 09:43 PM by Mine Turtle.)
05-12-2012 09:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
xdark68soul Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: New Guy...

Oh, I see... okay, now I just need someone that could help with my model n.n I have installed blender with COLLADA, but I don't know anything else D:

Thanks you guys :3
05-12-2012 09:47 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mine Turtle Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 656
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 29
Post: #7
RE: New Guy...

(05-12-2012 09:47 PM)xdark68soul Wrote:  Oh, I see... okay, now I just need someone that could help with my model n.n I have installed blender with COLLADA, but I don't know anything else D:

Thanks you guys :3
id recommend using Autodesk Maya 2011 or Autodesk 3dsMax 2012 for modeling. maybe im not updated on the matter, but lately blender has had errors and issues with importing to amnesia; so to make life a whole lot easier you can try either maya or 3ds max.

EDIT: nope, blender works fine with importing nowadays. id recommend, though, using autodesk maya or 3dsmax.

if youre gonna use em, make sure to install collada for them too Tongue

[Image: 201107142327000.gif]
05-12-2012 09:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
xdark68soul Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Tongue RE: New Guy...

I tried to use 3ds max but I couldn't D: oh... i'll try to use Maya Tongue where can I read some tutorials? could you help me a bit during the modelling?
05-12-2012 10:00 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Datguy5 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 623
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 12
Post: #9
RE: New Guy...

(05-12-2012 09:20 PM)xdark68soul Wrote:  Thanks you Big Grin Oh, I mean... when I'm on level 1, then I'm go to level 2... and there's a charging screen. I don't know if "Lost the lights" is a CS or a FC, but when the player changes the level... there's an image like this...

[Image: 2dc82394a5252e2b553832d23a76965f.jpg]

Whatever, what is the difference between a FC and a CS? D: Editing a full conversion is harder than editing a custom story? Thanks you again Big Grin

EDIT: Thanks you Datguy5 >w< that's is exactly what I wanted Big Grin
Np

05-12-2012 10:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mine Turtle Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 656
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 29
Post: #10
RE: New Guy...

(05-12-2012 10:00 PM)xdark68soul Wrote:  I tried to use 3ds max but I couldn't D: oh... i'll try to use Maya Tongue where can I read some tutorials? could you help me a bit during the modelling?
i only have a few months of experience with maya, but im sure i can show you the basics and the things nessecary ^^

[Image: 201107142327000.gif]
05-12-2012 11:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)