Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
New to developing, have a question.
Author Message
dewness Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
New to developing, have a question.

Hello everyone, my name is dewness. Recently I've gotten into developing maps for Amnesia; it's been going well so far, but I just want to know one thing: when I place floors using the primitives tool, it flickers when I move and looks glitchy. This doesn't happen with the ceiling, walls or other objects. This is probably a question that's been asked over and over but I couldn't find anything on it. Any help will be a appreciated.
05-16-2012 02:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 950
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 43
Post: #2
RE: New to developing, have a question.

It may either be that you have texture issues by having 2 floors or your boxlight needs to be a little under your floor Smile

05-16-2012 03:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
darkadders Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 45
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 3
Post: #3
RE: New to developing, have a question.

you've probably put 2 floors ontop of eachother. those sorta glitching things are common to see if textures overlap eachother in the level editor

*insert creative signature here*
05-16-2012 04:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
dewness Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: New to developing, have a question.

No, that doesn't seem to be it, I place a light box under my floor and I'm still getting the flickering. I also only have one floor laid down at the moment.
05-16-2012 04:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Stepper321 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 263
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 8
Post: #5
RE: New to developing, have a question.

Go check the gameplay itself Big Grin

Signature to awesome to be displayed.
05-16-2012 04:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Traggey Offline
Scientist of Art

Posts: 2,725
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 160
Post: #6
RE: New to developing, have a question.

(05-16-2012 04:03 PM)dewness Wrote:  No, that doesn't seem to be it, I place a light box under my floor and I'm still getting the flickering. I also only have one floor laid down at the moment.
Does this happen with every plane facing up? Or is only with a certain texture applied?
05-16-2012 04:12 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 950
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 43
Post: #7
RE: New to developing, have a question.

Do you have 1 boxlight that is sized across the whole map and is sized so it's the white lines is under the floor?

05-16-2012 05:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Cranky Old Man Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 922
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 37
Post: #8
RE: New to developing, have a question.

(05-16-2012 04:03 PM)dewness Wrote:  No, that doesn't seem to be it, I place a light box under my floor and I'm still getting the flickering. I also only have one floor laid down at the moment.
Did you check? Maybe you've pressed Ctrl-D by accident.

Noob scripting tutorial: From Noob to Pro

05-16-2012 05:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
dewness Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: New to developing, have a question.

Alright, it's fixed, I made a new map with the same floor texture and a light box that covers both under and over the floor. Thank you.
05-16-2012 07:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)