Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Strange issue with creating a custom story.
Author Message
Ananaias Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 20
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Strange issue with creating a custom story.

Alright, this issue has had me stumped for about 18 hours now. In the editor, I see one thing, but in game, I see what was in game about 5 steps back. I have made sure that I saved my work, tried exiting out of the editor and loading into the game, and nothing has fixed it. Here's two images to show what I am talking about.

[Image: zpZ4]

You can barely see it in that image (Sorry...), but that is to the right of the room I have made. The floor stops, and I can fall through, etc. It doesn't show the walls or the doorway that I have clearly created in this next image.

[Image: zq0V]

What can I do to fix this? D:

Sorry if it's an easy fix, this is only my 2nd day doing this, so I don't know much just yet ><
06-07-2012 09:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Datguy5 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 629
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 12
Post: #2
RE: Strange issue with creating a custom story.

Remove your map_cache.file from your custom story maps directory.Also do you have a playerstart placed?

(This post was last modified: 06-07-2012 11:07 PM by Datguy5.)
06-07-2012 11:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ananaias Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 20
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Strange issue with creating a custom story.

Yes, I do have a playerstart, you just can't see it in the screenshot. Will remove the cashe file now and see if that works.

EDIT: That worked. Thanks a ton Smile
(This post was last modified: 06-07-2012 11:18 PM by Ananaias.)
06-07-2012 11:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Datguy5 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 629
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 12
Post: #4
RE: Strange issue with creating a custom story.

(06-07-2012 11:11 PM)Ananaias Wrote:  Yes, I do have a playerstart, you just can't see it in the screenshot. Will remove the cashe file now and see if that works.

EDIT: That worked. Thanks a ton Smile

Glad i could help.

06-07-2012 11:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ananaias Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 20
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Strange issue with creating a custom story.

I have another issue, but I didn't want to create a new thread (sorry for so many questions ;~Wink

I created a lever, did the coding to make the lever activate a turning book case, but for some reason, I am unable to pull the lever. It seems to be stuck. I have it inside a secret wall in the mansionbase set. I resized it so it fits in there, and there's nothing else in there.

What am I missing here?
06-08-2012 04:12 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Traggey Offline
is mildly amused

Posts: 3,256
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 185
Post: #6
RE: Strange issue with creating a custom story.

Moving this to development support.
06-08-2012 08:03 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
FlawlessHappiness Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,986
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 171
Post: #7
RE: Strange issue with creating a custom story.

What about trying SetLeverStuckState("LEVERNAME", 0, true);

Being happy is the first step to success.
06-08-2012 08:22 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ananaias Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 20
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: Strange issue with creating a custom story.

I ended up switching to a different lever, and it worked just fine. idk. If I come across the problem again, I'll try out what you suggested, beecake.
06-08-2012 09:04 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)