Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Import pictures into a custom story?
Wrathborn771 Offline

Threads: 10
Import pictures into a custom story?

Hello,
I am working on a Custom Story which will be a surprise for a rather famous YouTuber who does alot of Amnesia commentaries.
In this story, there will be a few pictures with fanart on the wall.
I am done with everything that I'd like to be done with, except importing the pictures.
Do you know how to do this? I tried changing one of the pictures to .dae and open in ModelEditor and then save as a new portrait, but the editor crashed when trying to open the picture.
This is probably obvious, but I'm rather new to these kinda things, so excuse me. Smile

I'm running low on my deadline, I have around 10 days left before having to check for bugs and then send to the YouTuber, so rather fast answers would mean the world for me!

Cheers
-Wrathborn771
(This post was last modified: 06-24-2012, 11:45 PM by Wrathborn771.)
06-20-2012, 11:46 PM
Find
SilentStriker Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 26
RE: Import pictures into a custom story?

remember that you need a .dds file and then use the material editor to get a .mat file

06-21-2012, 09:36 AM
Find
Kreekakon Offline
Pick a god and pray!

Threads: 70

You could also use billboards if you like. Just open up the material editor, make your new material a "solid diffuse", and load in your picture from the place it asks you for a file under "diffuse"

Billboards sometimes, in my experience, react strangely to light though, so if your billboard is too dark, you can put a small light next to it, and attach it to the billboard.
06-21-2012, 09:50 AM
Find
Wrathborn771 Offline

(06-21-2012, 09:36 AM)SilentStriker Wrote: remember that you need a .dds file and then use the material editor to get a .mat file