Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
How To Transition To A New Map?
g2uypie Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Threads: 5
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 1
#1
How To Transition To A New Map?

I've downloaded other peoples maps, and seen like map1.map, map2.map, and so on. How do I make it so once they pass a trigger, it loads a new map?
(This post was last modified: 09-03-2012, 09:06 PM by g2uypie.)
09-03-2012, 08:59 PM
Website Find
Robby Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 2,549
Threads: 38
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 47
#2
RE: How To Transition To A New Map?

(09-03-2012, 08:59 PM)g2uypie Wrote: I've downloaded other peoples maps, and seen like map1.map, map2.map, and so on. How do I make it so once they pass a trigger, it loads a new map?
When you collide with a script zone, the callback must trigger this function:


ChangeMap(string& asMapName, string& asStartPos, string& asStartSound, string& asEndSound);

Additional info:
asMapName - the file to load
asStartPos - the name of the StartPos on the next map
asStartSound - the sound that is played when the change starts
asEndSound - the sound that is played when the new map is loaded

If this helped, make sure you help me out with a +1. I help you, you help me, you know.

Infrequently active. Don't expect an immediate response. Best to contact me at a different locale. If I create a thread, expect me to be quite active.
(This post was last modified: 09-03-2012, 09:05 PM by Robby.)
09-03-2012, 09:02 PM
Website Find
g2uypie Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Threads: 5
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 1
#3
RE: How To Transition To A New Map?

(09-03-2012, 09:02 PM)Nemet Robert Wrote:
(09-03-2012, 08:59 PM)g2uypie Wrote: I've downloaded other peoples maps, and seen like map1.map, map2.map, and so on. How do I make it so once they pass a trigger, it loads a new map?
When you collide with a script zone, the callback must trigger this function:


ChangeMap(string& asMapName, string& asStartPos, string& asStartSound, string& asEndSound);

Additional info:
asMapName - the file to load
asStartPos - the name of the StartPos on the next map
asStartSound - the sound that is played when the change starts
asEndSound - the sound that is played when the new map is loaded

If this helped, make sure you help me out with a +1. I help you, you help me, you know.
Thanks a ton. Sending rep your way right now Smile

Map Under Development: "What's Under The House?"
09-03-2012, 09:06 PM
Website Find
Robby Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 2,549
Threads: 38
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 47
#4
RE: How To Transition To A New Map?

(09-03-2012, 09:06 PM)g2uypie Wrote:
(09-03-2012, 09:02 PM)Nemet Robert Wrote:
(09-03-2012, 08:59 PM)g2uypie Wrote: I've downloaded other peoples maps, and seen like map1.map, map2.map, and so on. How do I make it so once they pass a trigger, it loads a new map?
When you collide with a script zone, the callback must trigger this function:


ChangeMap(string& asMapName, string& asStartPos, string& asStartSound, string& asEndSound);

Additional info:
asMapName - the file to load
asStartPos - the name of the StartPos on the next map
asStartSound - the sound that is played when the change starts
asEndSound - the sound that is played when the new map is loaded

If this helped, make sure you help me out with a +1. I help you, you help me, you know.
Thanks a ton. Sending rep your way right now Smile
Thanks. And you're welcome. And it works, right?

Infrequently active. Don't expect an immediate response. Best to contact me at a different locale. If I create a thread, expect me to be quite active.
09-03-2012, 09:08 PM
Website Find
g2uypie Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Threads: 5
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 1
#5
RE: How To Transition To A New Map?

(09-03-2012, 09:08 PM)Nemet Robert Wrote:
(09-03-2012, 09:06 PM)g2uypie Wrote:
(09-03-2012, 09:02 PM)Nemet Robert Wrote:
(09-03-2012, 08:59 PM)g2uypie Wrote: I've downloaded other peoples maps, and seen like map1.map, map2.map, and so on. How do I make it so once they pass a trigger, it loads a new map?
When you collide with a script zone, the callback must trigger this function:


ChangeMap(string& asMapName, string& asStartPos, string& asStartSound, string& asEndSound);

Additional info:
asMapName - the file to load
asStartPos - the name of the StartPos on the next map
asStartSound - the sound that is played when the change starts
asEndSound - the sound that is played when the new map is loaded

If this helped, make sure you help me out with a +1. I help you, you help me, you know.
Thanks a ton. Sending rep your way right now Smile
Thanks. And you're welcome. And it works, right?
I'm unsure right now, I just needed that for later on. If not, i'll come back and send you a message.

Map Under Development: "What's Under The House?"
09-03-2012, 09:20 PM
Website Find
Robby Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 2,549
Threads: 38
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 47
#6
RE: How To Transition To A New Map?

(09-03-2012, 09:20 PM)g2uypie Wrote:
(09-03-2012, 09:08 PM)Nemet Robert Wrote:
(09-03-2012, 09:06 PM)g2uypie Wrote:
(09-03-2012, 09:02 PM)Nemet Robert Wrote:
(09-03-2012, 08:59 PM)g2uypie Wrote: I've downloaded other peoples maps, and seen like map1.map, map2.map, and so on. How do I make it so once they pass a trigger, it loads a new map?
When you collide with a script zone, the callback must trigger this function:


ChangeMap(string& asMapName, string& asStartPos, string& asStartSound, string& asEndSound);

Additional info:
asMapName - the file to load
asStartPos - the name of the StartPos on the next map
asStartSound - the sound that is played when the change starts
asEndSound - the sound that is played when the new map is loaded

If this helped, make sure you help me out with a +1. I help you, you help me, you know.
Thanks a ton. Sending rep your way right now Smile
Thanks. And you're welcome. And it works, right?
I'm unsure right now, I just needed that for later on. If not, i'll come back and send you a message.
Ok, when I'll see that message (if there will be), I'll look into it. It is 11:21PM right now at where I live. And I need the sleep.

Infrequently active. Don't expect an immediate response. Best to contact me at a different locale. If I create a thread, expect me to be quite active.
09-03-2012, 09:21 PM
Website Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)