Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 5 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
~Cinematic Main Menu Mods - Finished: 1
Author Message
Daemian Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,130
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 49
Post: #21
RE: ~Cinematic Main Menu Mod - WIP

[Image: images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRUZVkn5a4sytnXCdZ0tDP...drdw6Yq_fv]

amazing, really

01-21-2013 12:38 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
No Author Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 962
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 13
Post: #22
RE: ~Cinematic Main Menu Mod - WIP

Did you use scripts on the map or you used something else ?

[Image: the-cabin-in-the-woods-masked-people.jpg]
01-21-2013 05:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Statyk Offline
Schrödinger's Mod

Posts: 4,391
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 241
Post: #23
RE: ~Cinematic Main Menu Mod - WIP

No, I described it in the OP. Its an entire level re-mapped in Maya and attached to an animated bone.

You can't script a menu map =P
~~~

Experiment for tomorrow:
- Render errors could possibly be caused from the shear size of the model (its scale is 1:1 compared to the original level). I'm going to try to detach the bone, shrink it down to half its normal size, and re-work the animation. Hoping to get this fixed D:
(This post was last modified: 01-21-2013 07:30 AM by Statyk.)
01-21-2013 07:22 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
The chaser Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 2,486
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 113
Post: #24
RE: ~Cinematic Main Menu Mod - WIP

(01-20-2013 06:05 PM)Statyk Wrote:  @Rapture
Fraps slows it down a lot for some reason. When I don't have Fraps running, it gets to about 30fps. With fraps running, it gets to about 15fps... But I'll try changing the animation framerate in Maya and see if that fixes it.

@Chaser
Spoiler below!

[Image: untitle.JPG]


But thank you anyways =P

Yea, Fraps is known to be very bitchy with the CPU.

THE OTHERWORLD (WIP)
[Image: k6vbdhu]

Aculy iz dolan.
01-21-2013 01:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Statyk Offline
Schrödinger's Mod

Posts: 4,391
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 241
Post: #25
RE: ~Cinematic Main Menu Mod - WIP

Well, I made a smoother animation, a bit lengthier, added details I forgot (spiderwebs, level door, and fixed a ceiling texture clipping issue) and the size of the animated area is half the size of the original Entrance Hall.

The render errors aren't as consistent... But they still exist... And it's really bugging me because I had it without render issues ONCE, and had to fix something, and it never happened again. I'm so close to finishing this... I just want it over and done with D|

Lighting: Complete (edited brightness because Fraps likes recording things darker than normal)


(This post was last modified: 01-22-2013 06:47 AM by Statyk.)
01-22-2013 06:47 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
HumiliatioN Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,176
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 18
Post: #26
RE: ~Cinematic Main Menu Mod - WIP

Statyk with his creations never disappoints! Marvellous work again! Tongue

“Life is a game, play it”
01-22-2013 07:17 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Statyk Offline
Schrödinger's Mod

Posts: 4,391
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 241
Post: #27
RE: ~Cinematic Main Menu Mod - WIP

It's not marvelous unless it works DX lol But thank you, I appreciate it <3
01-22-2013 07:26 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rapture Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,078
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 30
Post: #28
RE: ~Cinematic Main Menu Mod - WIP

Wow that looks great, the brightness is perfect.

In the far-far-far future, would you be willing to animate another map if we hosted a competition for the "best looking cinematic opening"? Big Grin
(This post was last modified: 01-22-2013 08:04 AM by Rapture.)
01-22-2013 08:04 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
HumiliatioN Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,176
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 18
Post: #29
RE: ~Cinematic Main Menu Mod - WIP

(01-22-2013 07:26 AM)Statyk Wrote:  It's not marvelous unless it works DX lol But thank you, I appreciate it <3

You will finish it Smile I know that xD

“Life is a game, play it”
01-22-2013 09:03 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Statyk Offline
Schrödinger's Mod

Posts: 4,391
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 241
Post: #30
RE: ~Cinematic Main Menu Mods - Finished: 1

FIXED IT, SOLVED IT. Finally... Turns out a joint can only holds 1-4 entities in the model. I had 1 joint in the scene and about.... 40 entities. So I had to add more joints so each joint can hold one entity. It all works now. Check out the OP for a preview and download. Enjoy! =]

I'm taking a little break on these for now. I'll think about adding more cinematics later. |D
(This post was last modified: 01-24-2013 06:22 PM by Statyk.)
01-24-2013 06:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)