Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Editor thumbnails, sounds, and opening a door
Damascus Rose Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,107
Threads: 22
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 24
#1
Editor thumbnails, sounds, and opening a door

I have 3 problems.

/////solved

No thumbnails are showing up for static objects or entities in my level editor.

/////////////////////

Sometimes sounds I play from script with the PlaySoundAtEntity() don't seem to play when others do, what is the cause of this?

///////////////////// solved

And I'm trying to get this swing door to open through script, and I've tried a few things, none of them work. I opened up the script from the Rainy Hall and copied it for my own door, but it has no effect. I also tried PropImpulses and Forces and still it does nothing. Right now all I have is

SetSwingDoorDisableAutoClose("nightmare_door", true);
SetSwingDoorClosed("nightmare_door", false, false);


If anyone could help me with any of these issues, that would be much appreciated.

[Image: damascusrose2.png]
(This post was last modified: 03-14-2013, 06:48 AM by Damascus Rose.)
02-28-2013, 05:40 AM
Find
No Author Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 962
Threads: 10
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 13
#2
RE: Editor thumbnails, sounds, and opening a door

From all of this problems I can only tell you this.
Re-install the game.

[Image: the-cabin-in-the-woods-masked-people.jpg]
02-28-2013, 06:48 AM
Find
OriginalUsername Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 896
Threads: 42
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 34
#3
RE: Editor thumbnails, sounds, and opening a door

Yes. Reinstall the game, and check if there are no caches in your /maps folder.
02-28-2013, 07:55 AM
Find
Damascus Rose Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,107
Threads: 22
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 24
#4
RE: Editor thumbnails, sounds, and opening a door

What would reinstalling the game do? I just installed it from steam and put the editor in and it doesn't work

[Image: damascusrose2.png]
03-07-2013, 10:51 PM
Find
ExpectedIdentifier Offline
Member

Posts: 234
Threads: 10
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 11
#5
RE: Editor thumbnails, sounds, and opening a door

Verify integrity of game cache on steam, hopefully that'll work Big Grin
03-08-2013, 06:49 PM
Find
The chaser Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 2,486
Threads: 76
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 113
#6
RE: Editor thumbnails, sounds, and opening a door

or re-install the editor, the game doesn't have to do anything about this.


Do this:

-Check your LevelEditor.log in Documents/HPL2/ and post it
-Re-install editors

If it doesn't work, send the game to full s**t (disinstall) and re-install.

For the door thing:

Make sure it's:

-The good direction and axis for force
-Having "world" at the end of the AddPropForce thing

THE OTHERWORLD (WIP)
[Image: k6vbdhu]

Aculy iz dolan.
03-08-2013, 09:40 PM
Find
Damascus Rose Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,107
Threads: 22
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 24
#7
RE: Editor thumbnails, sounds, and opening a door

Alright well, the issue with the thumbnail is fixed. But the sounds still aren't playing when I tell them to play in a script, for example this:

PlaySoundAtEntity("","explosion_rock_large", "Player", 0, false);

Normally I wouldn't have it set to create it at "player" but I wanted to see if it would work on the player and it doesn't, just the same as if I put it on a script area

[Image: damascusrose2.png]
03-14-2013, 06:41 AM
Find
NaxEla Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 415
Threads: 5
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 28
#8
RE: Editor thumbnails, sounds, and opening a door

(03-14-2013, 06:41 AM)Damascus Rose Wrote: Alright well, the issue with the thumbnail is fixed. But the sounds still aren't playing when I tell them to play in a script, for example this:

PlaySoundAtEntity("","explosion_rock_large", "Player", 0, false);

Normally I wouldn't have it set to create it at "player" but I wanted to see if it would work on the player and it doesn't, just the same as if I put it on a script area

You'll need to put the extension for the sound file (.snt).

PlaySoundAtEntity("","explosion_rock_large.snt", "Player", 0, false);

In Ruins [WIP]
03-14-2013, 06:48 AM
Find
Damascus Rose Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,107
Threads: 22
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 24
#9
RE: Editor thumbnails, sounds, and opening a door

I will test that one later, but what about this one? I'm trying to get the insanity effect of the babies crying so I used this code

PlayGuiSound("insanity_baby_cry_1.ogg", 1);

And it doesn't play a thing, what's wrong with it?

[Image: damascusrose2.png]
03-14-2013, 06:52 AM
Find
NaxEla Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 415
Threads: 5
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 28
#10
RE: Editor thumbnails, sounds, and opening a door

(03-14-2013, 06:52 AM)Damascus Rose Wrote: I will test that one later, but what about this one? I'm trying to get the insanity effect of the babies crying so I used this code

PlayGuiSound("insanity_baby_cry_1.ogg", 1);

And it doesn't play a thing, what's wrong with it?

Hmm.. that looks fine to me. Maybe the function that it's in doesn't actually get called? Try adding a debug message (AddDebugMessage) and make sure that the function the sound is in gets called.

In Ruins [WIP]
03-14-2013, 06:54 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)