Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Closed 
Demo: No sound
Author Message
Bef Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Solved: 1 Year, 9 Months, 1 Week, 4 Days, 15 Hours, 57 Minutes, 2 Seconds ago Demo: No sound

Hello,
I don't hear any sound in the demo on my Ubuntu 8.04 using Pulseaudio. Sound is working with all other installed applications.

Here some information about my system. Please tell me what additional information you need if this isn't enough.

uname -r: 2.6.24-16-rt

cat /proc/asound/cards:
0 [T71Space ]: Aureon71 - Terratec Aureon 7.1-Space
Terratec Aureon 7.1-Space at 0xb400, irq 21
1 [V8237 ]: VIA8237 - VIA 8237
VIA 8237 with AD1980 at 0x1000, irq 22


I think it might be a problem with openal. I have made some changes on the openalrc file so it should use Pulseaudio... but I'm not sure if everything is set up correctly now or if I have to change something else.

cat /etc/openalrc
(define devices '(esd))

Here are some messages from the logfile related to my problem:

Initializing Sound Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Initializing OpenAL.
Trying to open audio device... Success!
Device name: ALSA Software on default
Number of mono sources: 32
--------------------------------------------------------


...
ERROR: Couldn't play sound 'scrape_wood' for sound entity Scrape
WARNING: Can't find sound 'scrape_wood' (may also be due too many sounds playing).
...


The full logfile is attached.

Can anybody help please?
05-11-2008 12:41 PM
Find all posts by this user
Bef Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Solved: 1 Year, 9 Months, 1 Week, 4 Days, 15 Hours, 57 Minutes, 2 Seconds ago RE: Demo: No sound

Doesn't anybody use Pulseaudio with this Game?
05-17-2008 09:41 AM
Find all posts by this user
sybesis Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 30
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Solved: 1 Year, 9 Months, 1 Week, 4 Days, 15 Hours, 57 Minutes, 2 Seconds ago RE: Demo: No sound

Bef Wrote:Doesn't anybody use Pulseaudio with this Game?

Your config is Ok...I use pulseaudio too.
What is your graphic card?

You may have to use the libopenal.so that comes with ubuntu. I had a problem with libopenal that made penumbra completely crash but when using the libopenal that came with fedora there wasn't any problem anymore.

If you know how make symlink! rename the openal.so that comes with the demo to something else then do a link with the lib of ubuntu to the name of the openal.so file that came with the demo before renaming it.

/usr/lib/libopenal.so # mine is there
05-19-2008 08:59 AM
Find all posts by this user
BrownieBoy Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Solved: 1 Year, 9 Months, 1 Week, 4 Days, 15 Hours, 57 Minutes, 2 Seconds ago RE: Demo: No sound

sybesis Wrote:If you know how make symlink! rename the openal.so that comes with the demo to something else then do a link with the lib of ubuntu to the name of the openal.so file that came with the demo before renaming it.

/usr/lib/libopenal.so # mine is there

Great stuff, mate. I don't know if it helped the original poster, but it did the trick for me.

There was a symbolic link in my PenumbraOvertureDemo/lib folder called libopenal.so.1 which pointed to the file libopenal.so.1.3.253 in the same folder. Following your advice, I pointed the link to /usr/lib/libopenal.so.0 instead, and now I have sound in the Overture demo.

Thanks again.
05-28-2008 08:57 AM
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)