Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
ROPE question, Very difficult!!!
DnALANGE Offline
Banned

Posts: 1,549
Threads: 73
Joined: Jan 2012
#1
ROPE question, Very difficult!!!

I have a question for a friend of mine here on Frictional Games Forum.
I have made a VERY long rope and it looks good in the game..
SO that works fine..
I have a wooden box attached at the end of the rope.
If i toutch or throw the box it stay attached as i want it, so also good!
-
PROBLEM IS :
I also have a crank on the other site of the rope..
You can understand i think.... NOTHNG HAPPENS....

The rope is TIGHT\STRONG NOW, but must get looser to get the wooden box lower so i can use it like knee hight.
-
Could someone please help me!

as i think in the editor is everything fine.. here is my script:

InteractConnectPropWithRope("crankwithRope","crank_iron_26", "RopeArea_1", false, 1,1,1, false, 0);

and YES, i've watched some on youtube and the forums here, nothing realluy special what could help me..

This is another script from youtube maybe this would help me better?

void OnEnter()
{
for(int i=1; i<=10;i++)
{
InteractConnectPropWithRope("crankwithRope_"+i,"crank_iron_26", "RopeArea_"+i, false, 1,1,1, false, 0);
}
}

Btw what is the first one { crankwithrope }
-
Thank you if you help me out here!
Lange
(This post was last modified: 05-21-2013, 07:51 PM by DnALANGE.)
05-21-2013, 07:46 PM
Find
Kullin Offline
Member

Posts: 218
Threads: 23
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 3
#2
RE: ROPE question, Very difficult!!!

Try to post it in Deveolpment Support and you might get help easier.

But i think: for(int i=1; i<=7;i++) <--- that should to it, but im a noob with ropes so...
(This post was last modified: 05-21-2013, 08:28 PM by Kullin.)
05-21-2013, 08:27 PM
Find
DnALANGE Offline
Banned

Posts: 1,549
Threads: 73
Joined: Jan 2012
#3
RE: ROPE question, Very difficult!!!

(05-21-2013, 08:27 PM)Kullin Wrote: Try to post it in Deveolpment Support and you might get help easier.

But i think: for(int i=1; i<=7;i++) <--- that should to it, but im a noob with ropes so...

Why the 7?
Could you explane a bit more of this script?
05-21-2013, 09:05 PM
Find
OriginalUsername Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 896
Threads: 42
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 34
#4
RE: ROPE question, Very difficult!!!

(05-21-2013, 09:05 PM)dnalange Wrote:
(05-21-2013, 08:27 PM)Kullin Wrote: Try to post it in Deveolpment Support and you might get help easier.

But i think: for(int i=1; i<=7;i++) <--- that should to it, but im a noob with ropes so...

Why the 7?
Could you explane a bit more of this script?

It means: I'll loop from 1 until I hit 7. I++ means it keeps adding 1 until it hits 7.
(This post was last modified: 05-21-2013, 09:13 PM by OriginalUsername.)
05-21-2013, 09:13 PM
Find
DnALANGE Offline
Banned

Posts: 1,549
Threads: 73
Joined: Jan 2012
#5
RE: ROPE question, Very difficult!!!

(05-21-2013, 09:13 PM)Smoke Wrote:
(05-21-2013, 09:05 PM)dnalange Wrote:
(05-21-2013, 08:27 PM)Kullin Wrote: Try to post it in Deveolpment Support and you might get help easier.

But i think: for(int i=1; i<=7;i++) <--- that should to it, but im a noob with ropes so...

Why the 7?
Could you explane a bit more of this script?

It means: I'll loop from 1 until I hit 7. I++ means it keeps adding 1 until it hits 7.

Wele..
Smoke,
You may help me better IF you want to help me in skype?
It is a bit annyoing in here..
THEN i need to make several screenshots and couple of scriptfunctions..
Would you like to add me and after we fixed it you can remove me anyways.
Also a bit faster, so i can show you what i intend to do on screen.
redmaster12345 is my skypename, Thank you.
05-21-2013, 09:15 PM
Find
OriginalUsername Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 896
Threads: 42
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 34
#6
RE: ROPE question, Very difficult!!!

I don't know anything about ropes.. If I did, I would've helped you with that
05-21-2013, 10:43 PM
Find
PutraenusAlivius Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 4,713
Threads: 75
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 119
#7
RE: ROPE question, Very difficult!!!

Your friend did it wrong. At the end of the Pos Node, add a thin but long block box. You have to "attach" the box to the block box. At the Rope Area, go to EndBody and wrote the name of the block box.

"Veni, vidi, vici."
"I came, I saw, I conquered."
05-22-2013, 01:23 AM
Find
DnALANGE Offline
Banned

Posts: 1,549
Threads: 73
Joined: Jan 2012
#8
RE: ROPE question, Very difficult!!!

(05-22-2013, 01:23 AM)JustAnotherPlayer Wrote: Your friend did it wrong. At the end of the Pos Node, add a thin but long block box. You have to "attach" the box to the block box. At the Rope Area, go to EndBody and wrote the name of the block box.

Not totally true here..
Tomorrow i will try to make a small movie\ pictures for the rest who ever wanted to try some stuff with the rope.
HARDER then causal scriptings\mapping..
but, if you know what to do, great fun!

Back tomorrow.
05-22-2013, 04:03 AM
Find
The chaser Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 2,486
Threads: 76
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 113
#9
RE: ROPE question, Very difficult!!!

This might help you, dnalange:

http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-18804.html

I'd like to have more information or we are going to a dead end, like:

-How much cranks you have there
-The complete script

Trust me, I know how to work with ropes Wink

THE OTHERWORLD (WIP)
[Image: k6vbdhu]

Aculy iz dolan.
05-22-2013, 02:10 PM
Find
DnALANGE Offline
Banned

Posts: 1,549
Threads: 73
Joined: Jan 2012
#10
RE: ROPE question, Very difficult!!!

(05-22-2013, 02:10 PM)The chaser Wrote: This might help you, dnalange:

http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-18804.html

I'd like to have more information or we are going to a dead end, like:

-How much cranks you have there
-The complete script

Trust me, I know how to work with ropes Wink

I have made it to work.
So if anybody is interested in how "long" ropes + Several pulley's + a crank works, be free to ask me or anyone here on the forum.

It was quite a pain in the ass to get this to work.
-
If anyone ever have [problems or questions how to get it to work.
be free to ask me or offcourse more advanced moderators\players on the forum.
-

What i can help you with is what i've done and that;s this :

10 pully's
12 Posnodes
12 Ropearea's
13 long ropes }first tight -> after using the crank,ropes will be untight and hanging.
1 crank
1 box attached to the rope

NO BLOCKBOXES NEEDED-
So, my thing what i've build is this:

I made a very long rope that holds a box on one side and a crank on the other side.
The box is hanging high on the ceiling and when you turn the crank the box will lower down around the players waist.
-
Then there is another script that will be activate IF the box toutches the scriptarea "if the box is lowered" { the player must grab the box itself and throw the box to the area -> wooden plates to brake them }
then the player can continue his path AND then the biox will go up the ceiling by itself\another script..
-
For more information be free to ask.
(This post was last modified: 05-23-2013, 06:05 PM by DnALANGE.)
05-22-2013, 07:56 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)