Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 11 Vote(s) - 4.18 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Questions & FAQ about Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs Requirements
Author Message
MJaoune Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #401
RE: Questions & FAQ about Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs Requirements

(09-07-2013 05:02 PM)plutomaniac Wrote:  It's not the same engine. It has been updated the last 3 years. It may not be HPL3 but it's something like HPL2.5 (Amnesia used HPL2).

The game will work on lower-end hardware. Please state your system specifications(Operating System, Graphics Card, Processor and Memory).

Never mind... Here is a video showing that Intel Pentium 4 can play this game, as I expected:


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9S8wzv_TCJs

I say you should get better developers... You got bad developers that can't even assume system requirements....

There are other videos showing that Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs working on low-end computers (Pentium4, GeForce 210, etc...) without using any 3rd party Game Booster.

Your game is not as high quality as Skyrim, and yet Skyrim can work smooth on an Intel Core 2 Duo and the recommended is Core 2 Quad which is older than Core i3.

"High-range Intel Core i3 " That made me laugh... High-range? Your game can work on a Celeron or a Pentium 4...
09-15-2013 05:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,369
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 182
Post: #402
RE: Questions & FAQ about Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs Requirements

Alright, good. Smile

[Image: d81vyo.th.png]
09-15-2013 05:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Robby Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 2,549
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 47
Post: #403
RE: Questions & FAQ about Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs Requirements

Just posting my setup here, which runs the game at 1024x768 at high settings at a solid 30-60 FPS.

AMD Athlon X2 II 250 (3.0GHZ, dual core)
Nvidia Geforce 9500GT DDR2 1GB
2GB DDR3 RAM (1066 or 1333MHZ, PC can't determine it)

It's quite playable in most parts, and TDD ran at nearly the same speed.

Infrequently active. Don't expect an immediate response. Best to contact me at a different locale. If I create a thread, expect me to be quite active.
09-16-2013 11:44 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
FreonTrip Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #404
RE: Questions & FAQ about Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs Requirements

MJaoune, try to have a little tact. You're acting like a fool.

Results on the two desktops in my house follow.

On an FX-8320 with 24 gigs of DDR3-1600 and a 2048MB GTX 660 running Xubuntu 13.04 x64: 1920x1080, all settings maxed, SSAO high with 32 samples, FXAA set in driver control panel, vsync turned off.

Results were similar for my home theater PC, a Celeron G1610 with 8 gigs of DDR3-1600 and 1024 MB Radeon 7750 running Win7 x64: 1920x1080, all settings maxed, SSAO set to medium with 32 samples, vsync turned off.

I'm buying a Macbook Air this week and will update with results after I've played with it a bit.
09-17-2013 09:35 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
OverDoseD Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #405
RE: Questions & FAQ about Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs Requirements

Averaging about 17 FPS on the lowest settings 1920x1080 FULLSCREEN.

It seems I won't be able to enjoy this game. No shadows, no blurs or shaders. Game is just empty without these effects, but then again my PC specs aren't anything to brag about so I didn't expect much. Have a look.

2GB Ram
Nvidia GeForce 9500GT
Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU E4500 @ 2.20GHz (2 CPUs), ~2.2GHz
DirectX Version: DirectX 11

Although I've never liked games that ran on OpenGL and it seems this game does. I always select DirectX when I play Runescape, runs much better for me.

FPS dropped to 17 FPS and stayed there for the first hall I entered straight after I woke up, at the beginning of the game, must have been the lights and torches. Always a burden. Oh well. Guess I will have to wait at least 3 months before I save up for a new powerhouse PC. It's back to watching Let's Plays for me!

It isn't so bad either I guess. I barely got through 6 hours of Amnesia the Dark Descent, although I did kind of spoil myself by watching at least 4 different let's plays of that game. I screwed my first time experience for that.
09-18-2013 12:03 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
FreonTrip Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #406
RE: Questions & FAQ about Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs Requirements

(09-18-2013 12:03 AM)OverDoseD Wrote:  Averaging about 17 FPS on the lowest settings 1920x1080 FULLSCREEN.

It seems I won't be able to enjoy this game. No shadows, no blurs or shaders. Game is just empty without these effects, but then again my PC specs aren't anything to brag about so I didn't expect much. Have a look.

2GB Ram
Nvidia GeForce 9500GT
Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU E4500 @ 2.20GHz (2 CPUs), ~2.2GHz
DirectX Version: DirectX 11

Although I've never liked games that ran on OpenGL and it seems this game does. I always select DirectX when I play Runescape, runs much better for me.

FPS dropped to 17 FPS and stayed there for the first hall I entered straight after I woke up, at the beginning of the game, must have been the lights and torches. Always a burden. Oh well. Guess I will have to wait at least 3 months before I save up for a new powerhouse PC. It's back to watching Let's Plays for me!

It isn't so bad either I guess. I barely got through 6 hours of Amnesia the Dark Descent, although I did kind of spoil myself by watching at least 4 different let's plays of that game. I screwed my first time experience for that.

Try running at 1280x720. That made a HUGE difference on my friend's 8600GT, and will pmnudge you into playability for sure.
09-18-2013 01:48 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
OverDoseD Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #407
RE: Questions & FAQ about Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs Requirements

(09-18-2013 01:48 AM)FreonTrip Wrote:  Try running at 1280x720. That made a HUGE difference on my friend's 8600GT, and will pmnudge you into playability for sure.

1920x1080 is my native resolution. I despise playing games in window mode or pixelated in full screen. It ruins the immersion, especially for horror games like these. No go. Going to have to wait.
(This post was last modified: 09-18-2013 11:07 AM by plutomaniac.)
09-18-2013 01:58 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
FreonTrip Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #408
RE: Questions & FAQ about Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs Requirements

(09-18-2013 01:58 AM)OverDoseD Wrote:  1920x1080 is my native resolution. I despise playing games in window mode or pixelated in full screen. It ruins the immersion, especially for horror games like these. No go. Going to have to wait.

Up to you. Though a $65 Radeon 7750 would help nicely, run at 1080p, and it sips power. Good luck!
(This post was last modified: 09-18-2013 11:07 AM by plutomaniac.)
09-18-2013 03:41 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Doomed316 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 47
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #409
RE: Questions & FAQ about Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs Requirements

(09-18-2013 12:03 AM)OverDoseD Wrote:  Averaging about 17 FPS on the lowest settings 1920x1080 FULLSCREEN.

It seems I won't be able to enjoy this game. No shadows, no blurs or shaders. Game is just empty without these effects, but then again my PC specs aren't anything to brag about so I didn't expect much. Have a look.

2GB Ram
Nvidia GeForce 9500GT
Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU E4500 @ 2.20GHz (2 CPUs), ~2.2GHz
DirectX Version: DirectX 11

Although I've never liked games that ran on OpenGL and it seems this game does. I always select DirectX when I play Runescape, runs much better for me.

FPS dropped to 17 FPS and stayed there for the first hall I entered straight after I woke up, at the beginning of the game, must have been the lights and torches. Always a burden. Oh well. Guess I will have to wait at least 3 months before I save up for a new powerhouse PC. It's back to watching Let's Plays for me!

It isn't so bad either I guess. I barely got through 6 hours of Amnesia the Dark Descent, although I did kind of spoil myself by watching at least 4 different let's plays of that game. I screwed my first time experience for that.

turn down your resolution dude. Its the only way it will run smooth on that set up
09-19-2013 12:10 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
OverDoseD Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #410
RE: Questions & FAQ about Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs Requirements

(09-18-2013 03:41 AM)FreonTrip Wrote:  
(09-18-2013 01:58 AM)OverDoseD Wrote:  1920x1080 is my native resolution. I despise playing games in window mode or pixelated in full screen. It ruins the immersion, especially for horror games like these. No go. Going to have to wait.

Up to you. Though a $65 Radeon 7750 would help nicely, run at 1080p, and it sips power. Good luck!

These are the custom PC specs I'm going for. I might replace the second HDD with an SSD card for games and software to reduce load times.

Quote:Motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V PRO, Intel Z77, S 1155, DDR3, SATA III - 6Gb/s, D-Sub (VGA)/ DisplayPort/ DVI-I/ HDMI, ATX
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/asus-p8z7...i-hdmi-atx

CPU: Intel Core i5 3570K Quad Core IvyBridge Processor Retail with Heat Sink Fan
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/29-4intel...cache-34x-

GPU: 02G-P4-3660-KR - 2GB EVGA GTX 660 Ti, 28nm, 6008MHz GDDR5, GPU 915MHz, Boost 980MHz, Cores 1344, 2x DL DVI, DP, HDMI
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/evga-gtx-...vi-dp-hdmi

RAM: Corsair CMZ16GX3M2A1600C10 Vengenace 16GB 1600MHz CL10 DDR3 Memory Two Module Kit
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Corsair-CMZ16GX3...543&sr=1-1

Power supply: Seasonic X-750 Full module 750W ATX12V Power Supply Unit - Gold
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Seasonic-X-750-m...214&sr=1-1

OS: Windos 7 64 Bit OEM(One PC install, 3 activations): Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit OEM Operating System
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/microsoft...single-oem

Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series Mid Tower Case
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/corsair-6...se-w-o-psu

Asus DVD Internal SATA Drive: Asus DRW-24B5ST 24x Internal SATA DVD Drive
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Asus-DRW-24B5ST-...800&sr=1-1

Harddrive: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB Hard Drive
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/1tb-weste...cache-8-ms

Hardrive 2:Western Digital WD1002FAEX Caviar Black 1 TB 7200 RPM Internal Hard Disk Drive
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Western-Digital-...804&sr=1-1
09-19-2013 12:33 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)