Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
To the people who want to know where AMFP assets are...
Author Message
Kinami37 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
RE: To the people who want to know where AMFP assets are...

so fbx is nice, but where is it diffrent form .dae?
09-10-2013 03:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
LHudson Offline
Member

Posts: 165
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 9
Post: #12
RE: To the people who want to know where AMFP assets are...

(09-10-2013 03:55 PM)Kinami37 Wrote:  so fbx is nice, but where is it diffrent form .dae?

FBX makes it a lot easier to do motion capture tech, since it is a native Autodesk file, making movement easier for the pigs and children easier and faster to capture. You can do it with a Kinect Big Grin

[Image: sigpic401029_1.gif]
09-10-2013 04:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Kinami37 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
RE: To the people who want to know where AMFP assets are...

so only if you use motion capture, fbx is good xD? nothing else? because i know in TDD i had so many problems importing assets, especially monsters and stuff..

also im planning to get the right Programs for modding, which should i get?

i heard maya 2011 is good, maybe even an older version, or should I use newer? any ideas?
(This post was last modified: 09-10-2013 06:53 PM by Kinami37.)
09-10-2013 06:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Statyk Offline
Schrödinger's Mod

Posts: 4,391
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 241
Post: #14
RE: To the people who want to know where AMFP assets are...

2011 should work just fine.
(This post was last modified: 09-10-2013 11:54 PM by Statyk.)
09-10-2013 10:51 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Kinami37 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
RE: To the people who want to know where AMFP assets are...

ok, im glad i got it^^ cant wait for the update for the engine/tdd
09-10-2013 11:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
LHudson Offline
Member

Posts: 165
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 9
Post: #16
RE: To the people who want to know where AMFP assets are...

2011 should be fine, though I use 2013 with a few plugins and a python script running.

[Image: sigpic401029_1.gif]
09-10-2013 11:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rapture Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,078
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 30
Post: #17
RE: To the people who want to know where AMFP assets are...

Tried viewing what I could in the Level Editor and holy shit, some of the folders have about half the amount of Amnesia's total quantity of models. Some are just minor variations (And I found a lot of placeholder or junk ones, I'm not sure why they included them, just bloats the total file size. Laziness?) and others might be their just to make it easier I suppose on the designers (Their would be a single metal bar, then another would be almost the same, except it was two metal bars?).

But they are really cool nonetheless (Folders like the "Character" or "Enemy" don't work yet, they will just crash the Editor), and if what I payed helped the community obtain about 2,000+ new assets to play with, that will be more than worth the $20 or so I payed for AMFP.

Their is so much god damn models it's hard to make head or tails of a lot. Some of them are set pieces that require multiple ones in sequence so good luck figuring that combination out. Other's like ground pieces and parts that make up corridors or the circular metal corridors are made into such small modular pieces it's also a pain in the ass at first figuring out where one thing fits into another.

Warning: Some to a lot models are either super-sized, super misplaced a long a far finite point along an axis, or just plain invisible sadly.

Use the "Ctrl" + "F" and scroll down the bottom to find the sneaky bastards.

Edit: Something that will have to be done (Before a proper fix could be explained to me and the rest of us) is figure out what folders and files are working and make sure people only use those.
Their is about 15,000+ files to copy over and 2.5GB+ to boot. Maybe I'm stupid for copying the files from AMFP to AtDD directly, but make sure you make a copy of your folders before doing so.
(This post was last modified: 09-11-2013 06:49 AM by Rapture.)
09-11-2013 06:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)