Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
De/activate a rope
Steve Offline
Member

Posts: 178
Threads: 17
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 7
#1
De/activate a rope

I want to activate a rope when used you used a item on something.
But simply putting the rope area ect. inactive doesn't work. is there a way to do this.

A quick reply would be very appreciated. Smile

CURRENTLY WORKING ON:
Final Light = 40%
Need of voice actors.
09-28-2013, 09:46 PM
Find
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
#2
RE: De/activate a rope

A (slightly impractical) workaround would be to use InteractConnectPropWithRope to connect the rope to a valve that is out of view from the player. Then use SetWheelStuckState in place of SetEntityActive (-1 for "deactivating the rope" and 1 for "activating the rope"). Note that the rope area should be placed outside the room and make sure that the position node is directly below the rope area (i.e. it can't be at an angle, else the game may crash).

Suggested rope settings would be:

MinTotalLength: 0.01
Automove: checked
Automove acceleration: 50
Automove max speed: 50
RopeFile: (leave blank)
Damping: 1
Stiffness: 1

and adjust MaxTotalLength to your needs.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
10-01-2013, 03:48 AM
Website Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)