Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Job Hunt
Froge Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 176
Job Hunt

Anyone here have experience with searching for jobs?

I applied to about 27 tech companies for summer intern positions but so far I've only received one interview (and I've yet to hear from that company). My resume isn't too impressive, as my only experiences include game modding and first year uni CS courses.

What are your strategies for job searching? Is 25+ companies enough? I do have connections, but none to jobs relevant to the degree I'm studying for (computer science).

[Image: p229xcq]
02-12-2014, 12:18 AM
Find
eliasfrost Offline
Posting Freak

Threads: 34
RE: Job Hunt

Not to discourage you but here in Sweden you can apply for 50+ without getting any worthwhile interview. UNLESS you actually call them or go to their office/building. Show that you are there, it's unclear from your post but if you've only applied through e-mail chances are you won't find anything for quite some time unless you're really lucky.

If you have the ability to go to their address or call them, chances are they will remember you and perhaps you'll get an interview. Talking from experience myself, I've never landed an interview by simply applying, it's amazing how much a little presence can be worth it in the end.

Do you have a portfolio? Any finished mods that you can show off? Do you have any actual experience? Because from what I can tell, having a familiarity with keeping schedules and taking orders (in lack of a better word), you know, normal job stuff - can boost your chances.

Also, never search a few and call it quits. There's no end to how many jobs you can search and waiting for replies from a few instead of looking for other jobs (that you may or may not get) is a lot better, because it increases your chances.