Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Need help with EXEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION
Author Message
prebenkul Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Need help with EXEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION

I've recently downloaded a map called Collapsing Cosmos: The silver key from Moddb and it seems to be popular on youtube right now. I tried it myself but had a problem when leaving a library map. after I got everything I needed from a library, I went to the door. it has a kind of small doorway before getting to the main door. when I go or even touch the doorway. then my amnesia crashes. and then the blackbox says "Amnesia caused an EXEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION in module amnesia.exe at 0023_0051CD7F". no one else has this problem since I watched the same place on a youtube channel and it never happened to them. just me. idk, what to do Confused
03-14-2014 07:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mudbill Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,527
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 166
Post: #2
RE: Need help with EXEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION

Go to your Documents\Amnesia\Main and post the hpl.log file so we can see why it crashed.

03-14-2014 08:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
daortir Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 422
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 18
Post: #3
RE: Need help with EXEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION

Mudbill will be here to save the day hopefully u_u. I am pretty confused about this bug, it happens when a custom suitor spawns if I am correct. Do you think it could because of another mod some people have installed ?

03-14-2014 09:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mudbill Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,527
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 166
Post: #4
RE: Need help with EXEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION

That is very possible. If the name of a file is identical to another it can be mixed up and cause problems.

03-14-2014 10:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
thatguy521 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Need help with EXEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION

Version 1.10 - s7D240FF2-539
-------- THE HPL ENGINE LOG ------------
Engine build ID 20101021192547

Creating Engine Modules
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating graphics module
Creating system module
Creating resource module
Creating input module
Creating sound module
Creating physics module
Creating ai module
Creating gui module
Creating generate module
Creating haptic module
Creating scene module
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Resources Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating loader handlers
Creating resource managers
Adding loaders to handlers
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Graphics Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Init lowlevel graphics: 1366x768 bpp:32 fs:1 ms:0 gpufmt:2 cap:'Amnesia - The Dark Descent - Loading...' posSad-1x-1)
Setting video mode: 1366 x 768 - 32 bpp
Init Glew...OK
Setting up OpenGL
Vendor: Intel
Renderer: Mobile Intel® 4 Series Express Chipset Family
Version: 2.1.0 - Build 8.15.10.2302
Max texture image units: 16
Max texture coord units: 8
Max user clip planes: 6
Two sided stencil: 1
Vertex Buffer Object: 1
Anisotropic filtering: 1
Max Anisotropic degree: 2
Multisampling: 1
Texture compression: 1
Texture compression S3TC: 1
Auto generate MipMaps: 1
Render to texture: 1
Max draw buffers: 8
Max color render targets: 8
Packed depth-stencil: 1
Texture float: 1
GLSL Version: 1.20 - Intel Build 8.15.10.2302
ShaderModel 2: 1
ShaderModel 3: 1
ShaderModel 4: 0
OGL ATIFragmentShader: 0
ATTENTION: System does not support const arrays in glsl!
Setting up G-Bugger: type: 0 texturenum: 3

this is my hpl, and i don't know what that mean lol. Can someone please tell me what this means and if my computer can get past the crash upon launching bug
(This post was last modified: 03-23-2014 06:54 AM by thatguy521.)
03-23-2014 06:49 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mudbill Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,527
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 166
Post: #6
RE: Need help with EXEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION

What OS are you on? Also graphic card and such. You do have the appropriate OpenGL version, but at the very top it says version 1.10 which makes me think you do not have the Justine expansion? That could be the problem, cause many mods require it.

(This post was last modified: 03-23-2014 07:12 PM by Mudbill.)
03-23-2014 12:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
PutraenusAlivius Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 4,712
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 119
Post: #7
RE: Need help with EXEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION

Mobile IntelĀ® 4 Series Express Chipset Family

I don't think that graphic card can support Amnesia.

"Veni, vidi, vici."
"I came, I saw, I conquered."
03-23-2014 03:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
thatguy521 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: Need help with EXEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION

Chip type: Mobile Intel® 4 Series Express Chipset Family
DAC type: Internal
Adapter String: Mobile Intel® GMA 4500HD
Windows Vista

I got refunded on my purchase from Amazon, so at least it wasn't a complete waste of $. I am kind of bummed that I may not be able to play this game after reading the description though haha
03-25-2014 12:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mudbill Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,527
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 166
Post: #9
RE: Need help with EXEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION

(03-25-2014 12:45 PM)thatguy521 Wrote:  ATTENTION: System does not support const arrays in glsl!

Well, this line right here seems to be the problem. I actually encountered this as well once, but that was not hardware related. My problem had something to do with the Mac OS 10.9 which wasn't (and still isn't fully) supported. There is a work-around for this issue on the Mac, but if this actually IS hardware related, then I don't think there is much you can do with your current machine. I'm fairly certain Vista should be just fine running this game, so I doubt it's OS related. We even had cases of Windows 2000 running this game fine xP

(This post was last modified: 03-25-2014 12:54 PM by Mudbill.)
03-25-2014 12:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
thatguy521 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
RE: Need help with EXEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION

So what do you suggest I try and do? Or is there any suggestions lol
03-25-2014 12:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


[-]
Quick Reply
Message
Type your reply to this message here.

Please answer:



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)