Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Closed 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Help on Pyramid Head Model
Author Message
vengey Offline
Member

Posts: 79
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
RE: Help on Pyramid Head Model

Oh nono I know how to set the normals to smooth render. Well another update, I created MY OWN custom rig and it still wont import

04-11-2014 07:23 PM
Find all posts by this user
Juras Offline
Member

Posts: 166
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 27
Post: #12
RE: Help on Pyramid Head Model

Yeah but I mean to make a normal map texture file that applied to the low poly model will make it look as good as the high poly model in game? Okay lol. Send me the file now if you can and I'll take a look right away ^^

Co-Founder & Lead Art Director of Red Line Games
3D & Environment Artist, Animator
http://jurasbatas.deviantart.com
(This post was last modified: 04-11-2014 07:26 PM by Juras.)
04-11-2014 07:26 PM
Find all posts by this user
vengey Offline
Member

Posts: 79
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
RE: Help on Pyramid Head Model

Also just reduced it down to 6,402 faces and a 2.82 mb file size and it still isnt importing

Alrighty Big Grin

(This post was last modified: 04-11-2014 07:26 PM by vengey.)
04-11-2014 07:26 PM
Find all posts by this user
Juras Offline
Member

Posts: 166
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 27
Post: #14
RE: Help on Pyramid Head Model

One question btw. You're using maya 2011 right?

Co-Founder & Lead Art Director of Red Line Games
3D & Environment Artist, Animator
http://jurasbatas.deviantart.com
04-11-2014 07:32 PM
Find all posts by this user
vengey Offline
Member

Posts: 79
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
RE: Help on Pyramid Head Model

You're going to want to open up PyramidHead03, that is the version I am on, I keep on saving new files just to be on the safe side for if I need to backtrack later

The textures OUTSIDE the texture folder are the ones I am using, i.e. the ones labeled diffuse, specular, norm etc.

http://www.mediafire.com/download/c7bepj...idHead.zip

Yeah I have been using maya 2011 and OpenCollada, not regular collada Big Grin

(This post was last modified: 04-11-2014 07:33 PM by vengey.)
04-11-2014 07:33 PM
Find all posts by this user
Juras Offline
Member

Posts: 166
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 27
Post: #16
RE: Help on Pyramid Head Model

Alrighty Smile

Co-Founder & Lead Art Director of Red Line Games
3D & Environment Artist, Animator
http://jurasbatas.deviantart.com
04-11-2014 07:35 PM
Find all posts by this user
vengey Offline
Member

Posts: 79
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
RE: Help on Pyramid Head Model

Once again, Juras, thank you so much you are the best

Also bear in mind the rig in the pyramidHead03 is something I QUICKLY tossed together after deleting the previous rig to test and see if it was just the rig or not, so it is a TAD sloppy, like no joints in fingers etc., but structurally it should be okay i.e. everything is named and joints are properly connected, as far as I know

04-11-2014 07:37 PM
Find all posts by this user
Juras Offline
Member

Posts: 166
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 27
Post: #18
RE: Help on Pyramid Head Model

I did it! Big Grin I imported the mesh with the rig binded to it and it didn't crash (well after I did one thing, I'll tell you later in this post what it was) but the monster was huge lol.

Okay firstly, what I did was I deleted all the bunch of groups that you had which weren't even part of the model, then I ungrouped each polygroup that WAS part of the model, selected them all and grouped them all in 1 single group. Next thing was to set linear working units in window/settings 'n preferences/preferences/settings and changed them to meters instead of centimeters like you had otherwise the monster will be huge (and you can't scale down monsters in HPL2). After I changed the units to meters the monster became too small so I scaled him up to 10 and then freezed the transformations (important!).

Now the rig that you made will become too small after that so you will have to make a new one and I think you'll need to make a bone for the sword too to be able to move it while animating but if you make the sword seperate from the rest of the group you might not need to do that but I'm not sure if that will work, it's up to you to try that.

Now once you binded the skin with your finished rig click "export all" and import it in the model viewer (not the mdoel editor). When you will import it it will crash, BUT go to the directory of the monster and delete the .MSH file! Apparently the first time you import it doesn't find a material file so it makes the .MAT file for you along with the .MSH file that makes it crash, and the second time you will open it fill find the material file but it will use the bad .MSH file so just delete that .MSH file and keep the .MAT file. After that it shouldn't crash when you try to import it again and you're good to start animating Smile

Here's the pyramidHead03 file that I modified by making the model 1 group and the mesh is the right size with right working units- http://www.mediafire.com/download/fc50oq...dHead03.mb

Hope I explained this well and if you have more questions about this or anything monster making or animating related feel free to ask! Big Grin

Co-Founder & Lead Art Director of Red Line Games
3D & Environment Artist, Animator
http://jurasbatas.deviantart.com
(This post was last modified: 04-11-2014 08:30 PM by Juras.)
04-11-2014 08:24 PM
Find all posts by this user
vengey Offline
Member

Posts: 79
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
RE: Help on Pyramid Head Model

Holy crap Juras you are absolutely amazing. You better believe all of this is being written into a text document later especially your name in the credits. If I get this to import and I see the rig in there I will quite literally wear a nicolas cage mask around campus and have a photo for you...at some point in time xD

04-11-2014 08:29 PM
Find all posts by this user
Juras Offline
Member

Posts: 166
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 27
Post: #20
RE: Help on Pyramid Head Model

Hahaha glad I could help man! I've been in this frusturating situation before so I don't want anyone else to go through that xD. This will 100% work if you follow those steps, just don't forget to bind that skin before exporting Big Grin

Co-Founder & Lead Art Director of Red Line Games
3D & Environment Artist, Animator
http://jurasbatas.deviantart.com
04-11-2014 08:34 PM
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)