Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Work in progress Amnesia Mod Loader
Author Message
Mudbill Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,527
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 166
Post: #11
RE: Amnesia Mod Loader

I was originally planning on saving the user preferences in Documents\Amnesia, but if I am to allow different copies with different settings, then I'll need to save the prefs in the same folder as the app. I have heard issued with Windows Vista and UAC when saving such in \Program Files though. Not sure what that's about.

Since I have the game on Steam, I can only have 1 copy of the folder working at a time. If I copy it, Steam won't find the executable in the copy. That's why I didn't think of multiple copies.

Oh, and the app searches for mods on startup. I could probably add a refresh button too.

07-16-2014 12:53 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
victorkim890(KimmyChimmy) Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 1
Post: #12
RE: Amnesia Mod Loader

(07-15-2014 09:51 PM)Mudbill Wrote:  Yeah, I might also need someone on Linux who has Amnesia installed for testing later. I have an Ubuntu VM, but not with the game.

virtual box work?

(This post was last modified: 07-23-2014 12:38 AM by victorkim890(KimmyChimmy).)
07-22-2014 11:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mudbill Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,527
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 166
Post: #13
RE: Amnesia Mod Loader

I have Ubuntu on VB, but installing Amnesia on it would be inconvenient. I don't use Linux very much, so it'd be preferred to be someone who uses it regularly. They'll know their way around and be able to install mods for Amnesia, plus I'm unsure if the game will even work on a VM because they use very restricted hardware.

07-23-2014 01:14 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
victorkim890(KimmyChimmy) Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 1
Post: #14
RE: Amnesia Mod Loader

test it out on vb and some1 out linux try it out too. amnesia takes 15-25 minutes to instal

07-23-2014 01:28 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mudbill Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,527
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 166
Post: #15
RE: Amnesia Mod Loader

That entirely depends on internet and computer speed.

I'll probably test it to see if the program itself is working, but I might not be able to actually launch them on it.

07-23-2014 01:30 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
victorkim890(KimmyChimmy) Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 1
Post: #16
RE: Amnesia Mod Loader

it should work since didnt it work on windows vm or were u recording on another computer for ur vid for making the machine for pigs into amnesia

07-23-2014 01:34 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mudbill Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,527
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 166
Post: #17
RE: Amnesia Mod Loader

No, I have Windows natively installed through Boot Camp. It's like having Windows installed on any PC, and it utilizes the system's resources fully.

07-23-2014 01:57 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
victorkim890(KimmyChimmy) Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 1
Post: #18
RE: Amnesia Mod Loader

i no how to make virtual box full screen

07-23-2014 02:00 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mudbill Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,527
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 166
Post: #19
RE: Amnesia Mod Loader

That still doesn't make it as good as a native OS.

Anyway, back on topic.

I have a few updates I guess. Progress is at least going somewhere. Currently looks like this:
[Image: Ok7IIhA.png]

Some of the info that I've managed to read up by the app (technical):
Spoiler below!
Found game file: C:\mods\example\config\main_init.cfg
    Found file: C:\mods\example\config\aml.cfg
        GameName     = Amnesia - The Modded Mod
        Author         = By Mudbill
        IconFile     = icon.png
        Description     = This mod revolves around stuff & stuff happening in the presence of a player.
        MinVersion     = 1.2
        MaxVersion     = 1.2
Adding mod to list: Amnesia - The Modded Mod
Found game file: C:\mods\example1\Config\main_init.cfg
    Found file: C:\mods\example1\Config\aml.cfg
        GameName     = Amnesia - The Tested Mod -
        Author         = By MudbillYes
        IconFile     = icon_now.png
        Description     = This mod revolves stuff happening in the presence of a player.
        MinVersion     = 1.2
        MaxVersion     = 1.3
Adding mod to list: Amnesia - The Tested Mod -
Found game file: C:\mods\example2\Config\main_init.cfg
    Mod aml file not found; ignoring.
        GameName     = Just another mod
        Failed adding icon: C:\mods\example2\Config\
Adding mod to list: Just another mod
Found game file: C:\mods\example2 - Copy\Config\main_init.cfg
    Mod aml file not found; ignoring.
        GameName not found! Mod incomplete?
        Failed adding icon: C:\mods\example2 - Copy\Config\
Adding mod to list: Untitled
Mods found: 4
Setting up frame...
Setting up list...


Basically I'm messing around with a few working and broken mods to see how the app handles it.
Right now if you set the directory to the redist folder, it will search through all subfolders and find any main_init.cfg files. If the location where this file is found also contains aml.cfg and an icon file, they will be used in the mod loader.

By the way, the icons can be any size, but they will be resized to 64x64 to fit in the window.

(This post was last modified: 07-23-2014 05:04 AM by Mudbill.)
07-23-2014 05:00 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
victorkim890(KimmyChimmy) Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 1
Post: #20
RE: Amnesia Mod Loader

does the refresh button work

07-23-2014 05:06 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)