Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Poll: Have you ever had trouble finding a specific entity or static object in LevelEditor?
This poll is closed.
Yes 100.00% 7 100.00%
No 0% 0 0%
Total 7 vote(s) 100%
* You voted for this item. [Show Results]

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Search tab on LevelEditor?
Author Message
goalreadymc Offline
Member

Posts: 55
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Search tab on LevelEditor?

It's all happened to us.

While you're making your maps, you have to search for a specific entity or static object.

So, shouldn't we already have added a search tab for LevelEditor?
10-28-2014 12:03 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Daemian Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,130
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 49
Post: #2
RE: Search tab on LevelEditor?

It would be great :>

10-28-2014 01:31 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Straxedix Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 427
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 5
Post: #3
RE: Search tab on LevelEditor?

Is it hard to press Control (CTRL) and F in same time ?

10-28-2014 10:18 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Romulator Offline
G'day mate! :3

Posts: 3,454
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 190
Post: #4
RE: Search tab on LevelEditor?

(10-28-2014 10:18 AM)Straxedix Wrote:  Is it hard to press Control (CTRL) and F in same time ?

1. Within the scope of the Level Editor - to avoid going through the Operating System directories.
2. And not to check what you have already placed. To check objects/entities you can place, that is, the right pane.

Which means that the shortcut for either of the two may have to be modified otherwise.

Discord: Romulator#4942
(This post was last modified: 10-28-2014 10:30 AM by Romulator.)
10-28-2014 10:28 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mudbill Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,527
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 166
Post: #5
RE: Search tab on LevelEditor?

Something like this?

An extra search filter above the entity selection. You type something here and it will only show the categories which contain entities that match with the filter text, and after selecting a category, only those entities are shown. For example, if you type "servant" into the field, only one category shows up in the list (enemy). Click it and it will show only servant_grunt and servant_brute (and exclude the water monster and any pig men). Is this something FG should implement for SOMA? Definitely!
[Image: 5keNqWb.png]

PS: low pic quality, just Googled one and edited it cause I don't have the editors available atm.

(This post was last modified: 10-28-2014 01:40 PM by Mudbill.)
10-28-2014 01:39 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Slanderous Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,608
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 62
Post: #6
RE: Search tab on LevelEditor?

E-freakin-xtaclly, this would make things sooo easier.

Also, a magnet on/off hot key would be useful too :>
10-28-2014 04:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Datguy5 Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 629
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 12
Post: #7
RE: Search tab on LevelEditor?

(10-28-2014 04:18 PM)Lazzer Wrote:  Also, a magnet on/off hot key would be useful too :>

This

10-29-2014 04:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Daemian Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,130
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 49
Post: #8
RE: Search tab on LevelEditor?

We should make our own level editor with all these features, =p
I would -or try- if only I knew how to code a 3d viewer in opengl. It must be hard, isn't it?
or they just take that code from somewhere else?

10-29-2014 04:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mudbill Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,527
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 166
Post: #9
RE: Search tab on LevelEditor?

The editors are (AFAIK) running in the same engine that Amnesia runs in, which is an open source engine online called Newton Dynamics. You can download it and play around with it; there are some demos in the applications folder. I don't know if it will help though, because Amnesia itself seems pretty closed. Will take a lot to create another editor, however I can see it being very much possible. The levels and entities are, after all, just text files. Any program can write text files.

(This post was last modified: 10-29-2014 05:32 PM by Mudbill.)
10-29-2014 05:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Slanderous Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,608
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 62
Post: #10
RE: Search tab on LevelEditor?

(10-29-2014 05:31 PM)Mudbill Wrote:  The editors are (AFAIK) running in the same engine that Amnesia runs in, which is an open source engine online called Newton Dynamics. You can download it and play around with it; there are some demos in the applications folder. I don't know if it will help though, because Amnesia itself seems pretty closed. Will take a lot to create another editor, however I can see it being very much possible. The levels and entities are, after all, just text files. Any program can write text files.

I'm sure if someone would manage to write own, better hpl2 editor he would get a work in FG D:
10-29-2014 05:46 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)