Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Post Reply 
Overture doesn't work (Penumbra Collection)
Author Message
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 3,563
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 172
Post: #11
Not Solved RE: Overture doesn't work (Penumbra Collection)

Could you try this for Overture: in Overture/ move the Penumbra.app out of the folder and then in again and see if that removed the error about "damaged or incomplete". Sounds strange but I managed to reproduce the problem with Requiem.app and then doing this solved it. I have no clue as to why.
07-17-2009 06:47 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Black Smurf Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Joined: Jun 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Not Solved RE: Overture doesn't work (Penumbra Collection)

(07-17-2009 06:47 PM)jens Wrote:  Could you try this for Overture: in Overture/ move the Penumbra.app out of the folder and then in again and see if that removed the error about "damaged or incomplete". Sounds strange but I managed to reproduce the problem with Requiem.app and then doing this solved it. I have no clue as to why.

Worked for me too, Overture runs now Smile:

Very, very strange :eek:

"The oldest and strongest emotion of mankind is fear, and the oldest and strongest kind of fear is the fear of the unknown."
-- H.P.Lovecraft
(This post was last modified: 07-17-2009 06:53 PM by fonzi.)
07-17-2009 06:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
XenoPhage Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Not Solved RE: Overture doesn't work (Penumbra Collection)

(07-17-2009 06:47 PM)jens Wrote:  Could you try this for Overture: in Overture/ move the Penumbra.app out of the folder and then in again and see if that removed the error about "damaged or incomplete". Sounds strange but I managed to reproduce the problem with Requiem.app and then doing this solved it. I have no clue as to why.

I seem to have broken Black Plague now as well after trying that. I'll wipe my install and start over...
07-17-2009 06:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
andreas Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Not Solved RE: Overture doesn't work (Penumbra Collection)

Hi,
it works, but i have to do it with each of the three games. So far so good. Everytime i chance the game, i have to start the procedure again.
07-17-2009 07:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
NaturalJow Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Not Solved RE: Overture doesn't work (Penumbra Collection)

(07-17-2009 06:47 PM)jens Wrote:  Could you try this for Overture: in Overture/ move the Penumbra.app out of the folder and then in again and see if that removed the error about "damaged or incomplete". Sounds strange but I managed to reproduce the problem with Requiem.app and then doing this solved it. I have no clue as to why.

Worked for me as well. I believe that due this dmg stuff, the application forgot where it is. I'm sure you're determining in the code the working directory to load all the textures. If for some reason this is wrong, it fails to load the textures. Moving the app around may make the app aware where it is. However, I hope you'll find a "real" solution soon.

Thanks!
07-17-2009 07:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
DoubleU Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #16
Not Solved RE: Overture doesn't work (Penumbra Collection)

A me too.
I was unable to launch the game with the collection launcher.
The following messages are displayed in the console
Quote:17/07/2009 17 Jul 21:46:06 Launcher[2054] Awake
17/07/2009 17 Jul 21:46:06 Launcher[2054] Main Win: <NSWindow: 0x127140> Size {{488, 590}, {460, 265}}
17/07/2009 17 Jul 21:46:06 Launcher[2054] Launcher: <LauncherMainView: 0x11f9d0> Size {{0, 0}, {460, 243}}
17/07/2009 17 Jul 21:46:06 Launcher[2054] Loading View Contents
17/07/2009 17 Jul 21:46:06 Launcher[2054] Array Length 4
17/07/2009 17 Jul 21:46:06 Launcher[2054] Application Launched
17/07/2009 17 Jul 21:46:06 Launcher[2054] Hello Me
17/07/2009 17 Jul 21:46:06 Launcher[2054] Hello Me
17/07/2009 17 Jul 21:46:15 Launcher[2054] Button Press <NSButton: 0x1444b0>::2
17/07/2009 17 Jul 21:46:15 Launcher[2054] Try path /Applications/Penumbra Collection/The Penumbra Collection.app/../Overture.app
17/07/2009 17 Jul 21:46:15 Launcher[2054] LSOpenFromURLSpec() returned -10827 for application /Applications/Penumbra Collection/The Penumbra Collection.app/../Overture.app path (null).
17/07/2009 17 Jul 21:46:15 Launcher[2054] LSOpenFromURLSpec() returned -10827 for application /Applications/Penumbra Collection/The Penumbra Collection.app/../Overture.app path (null).
17/07/2009 17 Jul 21:46:20 Launcher[2054] Button Press <NSButton: 0x12bca0>::0
17/07/2009 17 Jul 21:46:20 Launcher[2054] Try path /Applications/Penumbra Collection/The Penumbra Collection.app/../Black Plague.app
17/07/2009 17 Jul 21:46:20 Launcher[2054] LSOpenFromURLSpec() returned -10827 for application /Applications/Penumbra Collection/The Penumbra Collection.app/../Black Plague.app path (null).
17/07/2009 17 Jul 21:46:20 Launcher[2054] LSOpenFromURLSpec() returned -10827 for application /Applications/Penumbra Collection/The Penumbra Collection.app/../Black Plague.app path (null).
17/07/2009 17 Jul 21:46:36 Launcher[2054] Button Press <NSButton: 0x143b70>::1
17/07/2009 17 Jul 21:46:36 Launcher[2054] Try path /Applications/Penumbra Collection/The Penumbra Collection.app/../Requiem.app
17/07/2009 17 Jul 21:46:36 Launcher[2054] LSOpenFromURLSpec() returned -10827 for application /Applications/Penumbra Collection/The Penumbra Collection.app/../Requiem.app path (null).
So the launcher is looking in the wrong spot?

Then I tried to start Overture.app and got the message that there might be something wrong with the game. On advise in this thread I moved Penumbra.app and I was able to play the game. Till I got to the car battery and got a black screen.
First thing I did was download the latest Mac Patch and installed it, directly after that I found the solution to my black screen problem ->
Described here. In this thread there is a workaround so I wanted to launch the game again. I get the message that the game is damaged. So I move Penumbra.app again and launch the game. This time it asks me for my serial, I enter it again but this time it is not recognized! I can see the collectionkey file in my library and it has the correct key.

So I start Black Plague.app, same "game is damaged" message, move the app, and again the game asks me for the serial, and this time it is accepted! Great, I exit Black Plague and start OverTure. And it asks me for my serial again!

So it looks like the mac patch doesn't like the collection serial I received today.
I'm going to re-install and not install the patch and see how it works.
Great game! I hope these glitches get fixed because I'm hooked.
07-17-2009 10:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 20
Post: #17
Not Solved RE: Overture doesn't work (Penumbra Collection)

Patch??? what patch are you talking about?

The Collection includes the LASTEST fixes for all 3 games, so no patch should be needed at all.

I just re-downloaded the collection (from the same servers as all of you) so I can try and recreate these odd issues.

More to follow.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
07-17-2009 10:08 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
DoubleU Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
Not Solved RE: Overture doesn't work (Penumbra Collection)

(07-17-2009 10:08 PM)Urkle Wrote:  Patch??? what patch are you talking about?

The Collection includes the LASTEST fixes for all 3 games, so no patch should be needed at all.

I just re-downloaded the collection (from the same servers as all of you) so I can try and recreate these odd issues.

More to follow.
I downloaded the 1.0.3 patch but if it is already included then I will just do a re-install of the game and wait for a resolution.

Maybe good to mention is that my file system is case-sensitive. Not sure if this is a problem for this game but some apps don't like that at all.
07-17-2009 10:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
sdalek Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
Not Solved RE: Overture doesn't work (Penumbra Collection)

(07-17-2009 06:47 PM)jens Wrote:  Could you try this for Overture: in Overture/ move the Penumbra.app out of the folder and then in again and see if that removed the error about "damaged or incomplete". Sounds strange but I managed to reproduce the problem with Requiem.app and then doing this solved it. I have no clue as to why.

Tried that and it didn't work. Anything else to try?
07-17-2009 10:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
msp301 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
Not Solved RE: Overture doesn't work (Penumbra Collection)

Hey,
I've just bought the Penumbra Collection today, installed on my Mac (10.5.7) and I had the same problem of the Overture game not starting ... It now works after navigating to "/Applications/Penumbra Collection/Overture" and dragging the Penumbra.app to my Desktop and then dropping it back again, then after double-clicking to launch the .app, I am asked if i want to launch this downloaded program, say yes and the game starts ... If this isn't working for you, possibly try uninstalling the game collection entirely and then following these steps again to see if it makes a difference ... hope that helps Smile
07-17-2009 10:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


[-]
Quick Reply
Message
Type your reply to this message here.

Image Verification
Please enter the text within the image on the left in to the text box below. This process is used to prevent automated posts.



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)